#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Paris, France 🇫🇷 with Sophie Valroux’s Paris Stars by Samantha Vérant ~ 5⭐️ 

Published on October 19th, 2021 by Berkley Books

Summary:

In this delectable novel, a chef on the rise fuels her passion for cooking while enduring the hardest challenges she’s ever faced after a debilitating injury. 

Everybody wants a piece of grand chef Sophie Valroux. With her once-destroyed reputation fully recovered and then some, Sophie is making her mark in the culinary world. She’s running the restaurants of Château de Champvert, the beautiful estate that she inherited from her grandmother. She and her fiancé, Rémi, are closer than ever, and she’s even bonding with his daughter Lola. Everything should be perfect.

Yet, Sophie still feels something in her heart is missing.

When she’s invited to cook at an exclusive event her culinary idol is attending, she thinks this could be the thing to catapult her to greater heights, maybe even bring her one step closer to her one and only dream of achieving the stars–Michelin stars.

But fate has other plans for Sophie. After she accepts to cook for the Parisian elite, her world crumbles. She suffers a fall and loses her senses of smell and taste. Certain that her career will vanish if people find out, she keeps this secret to herself, not even telling Rémi. She fakes it all: the menus for every meal, the taste of fresh figs, the juicy cherries in the orchard. All she has to do is get through life–and the event–tasteless without missing a single step. Fake it ’til you make it…right?

Review:

If there were recipes included, I might have had to “Spend my year as Sophie Valroux”. This was  blog I loved that was done by a fan of Julia Childs. I know that Samantha Vérant, the author of “Sophie Valroux Paris Stars” must be able to cook, otherwise her very own protagonist wouldn’t be writing about food so deliriously delicious! Visit Paris is on my Bucket List, now eating at a Michelin Stars Restaurant has been added. I cherish books that make me feel this connected because of its intimacy. Samantha wraps us up in the story as if we are part of it. There is an elegance to reading it, just as there is an elegance to top star dining! There is commitment to it, just as there is commitment in dating a man with a child. 

There is a delivery of beauty and lights and aromas you can only absorb by opening these pages. The same goes for friendship and love. 

This is your ticket to Paris! This is your invitation to experience it until you can get there in real life. If you can’t get there in real life, Samantha Verant’s second installment in the Series will satisfy the aches you had about not going. Trust me! 

Sit, read, sip your drinks and snack on your charcuterie and go spend some time with Sophie! You’ll be so glad you did!

5 Michelin Stars!

Author Bio:



Samantha Vérant is a travel addict, a self-professed oenophile, and a determined, if occasionally unconventional, French chef. Over the years, she’s visited many different countries, lived in many places, and worked many jobs— always on the search for the one thing that truly excited her. Then, one day, she found everything she’s been looking for: a passion for the written word and true love. Writing not only enabled her to open her heart, it led her to southwestern France, where she’s now married to a sexy French rocket scientist she met over twenty years ago, a stepmom to two incredible kids, and the adoptive mother to one ridiculously adorable Charteux cat. When she’s not trekking from Provence to the Pyrénées, tasting wine in American-sized glasses, or embracing her inner Julia Child while deliberating what constitutes the perfect boeuf bourguignon, Samantha is making her best effort to relearn those dreaded conjugations. 

Website: http://www.samanthaverant.com/

Click here to order Today: https://amzn.to/3AU4CwY

#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Victorian-era England with The Last Season by Jenny Judson & Danielle Mahfood ~ 5⭐️

Published: October 19th, 2021 by TouchPoint Press

Summary:

A Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks Fall Must Read

Set in Victorian England, The Last Season is a story of social upheaval, changing fortunes, and an unlikely romance that develops between a well-to-do heiress and a stable boy.

When they meet as adolescents at Drayton Manor, the well-to-do Cassandra Drayton and the manor’s stable boy, Crispin St. John, seem destined for very different futures. Yet, the two strike up a secret and forbidden friendship. Once discovered, they are forced apart, with Cassandra staying locked in her father’s world and Crispin traveling to India to make his own way.Years later, when Cassandra’s high-society London lifestyle is shattered by her father’s spectacular fall from grace, she is surprised to reunite with her childhood friend, no longer a penniless boy but an enterprising young man who has risen through the ranks of the Indian cotton trade. As they navigate changing circumstances, fickle friendships, and social upheaval, Cassandra and Crispin find that the bond they developed as children is a lasting one.

Review:

This is the story that most of us girls grew up dreaming about when we were reading our “Little Women” or “Jane Eyre” books. I really enjoyed this romp through Victorian-era England. Jenny Judson & Danielle Mahfood nailed the perfect recipe for everything I cherish in a  rolling romantic saga. I fell for both character and place!

This is a great world to fall into! I had fancy gloves, a special tea cup, pen, journal and candle from the “Bridgestone” Book Box, and I loved using them while I took a deep dive into  “The Last Season”! #FunTimes Great idea for your Book Club!l

I received a copy of the book from TouchPoint Press via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

#ZibbyOwens #AnnieMcDonnell #TheWriteReview #AnnieFavorites #NetGalley

5⭐️

About authors:

Jenny Judson and Danielle Mahfood, who met in high school, share a mutual love of historical fiction and romance novels. Instead of passing notes in class, Jenny and Danielle would write short excerpts from imaginary novels that featured themselves and their classmates as characters caught up in tales of romance and adventure. Many years later, after cheering for opposite teams at Harvard-Yale games, they came together in New York City to begin writing The Last Season, which is inspired both by the Victorian period and the financial crisis of 2008.

Order Here:

https://amzn.to/3iUXjPE

#NewRelease, #LiveAuthorInterview, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport 🇮🇪for 18th Century Ireland with ”A Land without Wolves” by Daniel Wade ~ 5 Howling ⭐️

Publishing on October 12, 2021 with Temple Dark Publications

Summary:

Historical Musings in 18th Century Ireland

In the midst of Rebellion are legends wrought, and Mogue Trench knows of a tale never told. What better time to relay it than as the rope awaits.

The Highwayman Joseph Mac Tíre knows of hardship – at the hands of Redcoats and Republicans alike – so Ireland’s political struggle has less appeal than mentoring an orphan in the ways of the underworld.

Yet the world has a way of catching up to men whose hearts know only darkness – men who hunt, and kill, and howl in rage.

But sooner or later, they howl no more.

Review: (yes, i had a lot to say)

“A Land Without Wolves” has me reminiscing of the classics because Daniel Wade’s novel belongs on the shelves among them! I trust this novel will still be discussed many years from now, because of all it can teach us in both craft and history. Daniel Wade has created a deeply satisfying immersion in to a dark time in Ireland’s history. So very entertaining I hated when I had to put it down.

Sometimes there are words that are just written on paper and then there are times when the words feel as if they have been etched and carved so deliberately becoming more vibrant and beautiful and intimate. Daniel takes the English language and has the ability to wrap words around one another with such nuance it’s seems just as effortless as the ink flows from pen to paper. I am still absolutely blown away!

Daniel Wade’s delivery of this 18th century story will be treasured for years to come. I was taken back to Ireland, drifting back into history I now feel profoundly close to. From the first few sentences I was immediately captivated, but at the end of the first chapter I became Daniel’s captive! With one sentence, Daniel knocked the wind out of me and I had to know more. He knows how to grab your attention and make you care about his richly developed characters as if they were your own ancestors. 

Daniel’s writing is so superb, I saw everything unfold in glorious rhythms.  I could see old maps in my mind as we weaved through various escapades. I could sense the trees on either side of me, as if I was in tandem with the horses or along on a walk. I could absolutely feel the damp air touch my face as it turned to rain and fog. I was aroused to feelings of fear and danger just as the characters were. I love giving into a story, and “A Land without Wolves” is one that you will want to allow all of your senses to revel in.

Daniel Wade has a gift where each line and paragraph of his story feels intentionally written “just for me”. He has a way of making you feel like an elevated, proud reader. I feel smarter for having read his novel! 

I’d like to think this story had to be written by candlelight with a quill pen, because the essence of the times is captured so flawlessly.

I am in such a wildly satisfying and exciting awe, I can’t wait for everyone to read it!

5 Howling Stars.

Author Bio:

Daniel Wade is a poet and playwright from Dublin, Ireland, and has been working with language in its many forms since 2007. A graduate of Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Daniel’s poetry has been published in numerous journals, newspapers, and anthologies. He has been a guest on Dublin South FM’s Rhyme and Reason poetry program, and Near FM’s Writer’s Block. In June 2015, his radio drama, The Outer Darkness, was broadcast on Dublin South FM. In 2017, Daniel had his play ”The Collector” playing at The New Theatre in Dublin. January 2020 saw the broadcast of his second radio drama, Crossing the Red Line, on RTE Radio One Extra. A prolific performer, Daniel has read his work at festivals including Electric Picnic, Body and Soul, Noeliefest, the West Belfast Festival, Dublin Fringe and the International Literature Festival 2019 (ILF).

Daniel’s Website: http: //www.danielwade.ie/

#BookReview: Goodbye, Orchid by Carol Van Den Hende ~ The Write Review Top Book of 2020, Annie Award Finalist & 5⭐️

Published: October 1st, 2020

Summary:

Rising from ashes is hard. Giving up the one you love is harder.

Thirty-two year-old Phoenix Walker is an entrepreneur who has built an agency with a heart almost as big as his own. To add to his good fortune, he’s falling for Orchid Paige, the beautiful half-Asian marketer who’s collaborated with him on a winning military campaign.

They’ve grown close after months working and traveling together. She’s even divulged the trauma in her past that makes her panic over images of injured vets. He’s trying not to cross their professional boundary.

Their searing attraction heightens.

Until an accident changes him forever.

Now, he’s faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?

Review:

“Goodbye, Orchid” is not your ordinary romantic story. You will be moved to places deeper than expected.

It reminded me of Jane Eyre’s “Sense & Sensibility” in its outstanding and classy delivery! Only instead of the characters overcoming class and status to find one another, Phoenix & Orchid must face physical and emotional scars to do so. Their love is woven together by trauma and loss. This is another love for the ages!

They must decide how vulnerable they are willing to become for love and themselves.  Isn’t this what all great love stories are made of? 

It is in the vulnerabilities that we find our most powerful gifts for both ourselves and others. That compassion, perseverance and capacity of the human heart is proven between the covers.

Carol Van Den Hende writes with a scorching intensity for her story and it is intoxicatingly beautiful. The words feel so personal you can’t help but become enraptured. Carol is an exceptional wordsmith!

I know from personal experience that she nails Phoenix in his recovery. I was often brought to tears with her accuracy. Carol’s care with this is immaculate.

Jane Eyre wrote “The more I know of the world, the more am I convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love.” 

I can see this for Phoenix “The more I know of my recovery, the more I am convinced that I shall never be able to allow Orchid to really love me”

The cover & pages are stunning! You trust this book was deeply cared for in its making! You too, will care for it deeply!

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

CAROL VAN DEN HENDE is an award-winning author who pens stories of resilience and hope. Her novel Goodbye, Orchid won the 2020 American Fiction Award winner for urban fiction,  Pinnacle Achievement Award winner for multicultural fiction, IAN Outstanding Fiction for Best First Novel, two Royal Dragonfly Awards, two Best Book Finalist Awards, Audiobook Reviewer New Author of the Year Award, 2021 gold American Advertising Award, 2021 Book Excellence Award, 2021 Authorshout Recommended Read Award, 2021 Kops-Fetherling International Award Multicultural Fiction Gold, Chanticleer International Chatelaine 1st Place Award, 2021 National Indie Excellence Award, a Zibby Award nomination, was named a Top Book of 2020 by The Write Review, and selected as a 2022 Book of the Month by the world’s largest book club, The International Pulpwood Queens and Timber Guys Book Club. Plus, it’s been featured by Glamour, Buzzfeed, Parade,  Travel+Leisure, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, DIYMFA, WABC Radio among others. Carol is also a speaker, strategist, Board member and Climate Reality Leader. One secret to her good fortune? Her humorous husband and teenaged twins, who prove that love really does conquer all. Please sign up for Carol’s newsletter at carolvandenhende.com/contact or linktr.ee/cvdh

Order Here:

Order from our Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781646631889

#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for 🇺🇸 Washington, USA: Other People’s Things by Kerry Anne King

Published: September 21, 2021

From the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Whisper Me Thiscomes a witty, magical story about improbable connections, difficult gifts, and the unexpected events that heal us and bring us together.

Jailbird. Klepto. Spectacular failure to launch. Nicole Wood’s sticky fingers have earned her many names, but it’s not that she’s stealing—some objects just need to be moved elsewhere, and the universe has chosen her to do it. Still, being a relocator of objects isn’t easy. With her marriage on the rocks, no real-world skills, and the threat of prison hanging over her head, Nicole is determined to change her ways.

Things seem to be looking up, thanks to a godsent job with her sister’s housecleaning business—until she encounters a seemingly harmless paperback that insists on moving from one client’s home to another’s. Nicole hopes no one will notice, but the action stirs up long-hidden secrets and triggers a series of fateful events that threatens to destroy the life she’s creating and hurt those closest to her. She’ll need to embrace her unwieldy gift and take a chance on love in order to unravel the mystery and fix what’s gone wrong. 

Review:

Kudos to King! Kerry Anne King gets better with each book! She always proves to be superbly original!

“Other People’s Things” has me seeing things and people through a new lens. I admire books that move me in this way.

I was spellbound from the moment I opened the book until the very end when it had to let me go, only because it was over! 

In doing so, I found this story of Nicole and the people around her to be so Real! ! Engaging! Funny! Alluring! and, best of all, Satisfying!! 

This is a book I will read again and again and share with friends.

I anxiously await Kerry Anne King’s next novel!

I was given this book by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

Kerry Anne King (who also writes as Kerry Schafer) is a Washington Post and Amazon charts bestselling author who writes compelling and transformational stories about family and personal growth. She loves to add in mystery, humor and an undercurrent of romance, and celebrates when she succeeds in making readers both laugh and cry.

Kerry Anne has been chosen as the 2020 Writer of the Year by the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers Association. Her most recent novel, Everything You Are, is a finalist in the Nancy Pearl Awards hosted by the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. She is enthusiastic about encouraging and supporting other writers and is the host of Tell Me Your Secrets, a videocast/podcast featuring lively, informal interviews with authors and other people involved in bringing books into the world.

When not absorbed in creative pursuits, you’ll find Kerry Anne hanging out with her real life Viking on their little piece of heaven in rural northeastern Washington.

Website: https://allthingskerry.com/blog

Order Kindle Version Here on Amazon:

Order from Bookhampton, to Support My Local Indie Shop in Southampton, NY:

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9781542026239

Paperback, Hard COver & CD

Order from Bookshop to help Indie Bookshops & One Love Dog Rescue which I volunteer:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781542026239

look at ANnies’s FavOrites

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Spain 🇪🇸 & New York, 🇺🇸 : Paper Airplanes by Tabitha Forney. One of my Favorite Reads this Year. ~ 5⭐️

Published: September 7th, 2021 by SparkPress, just in time to honor the 20 year Anniversary of 9/11

Subject:

It’s the end of summer, 2001. Erin O’Connor has everything she’s ever dreamed of: good friends, a high-powered career at a boutique Manhattan firm, and a husband she adores. They have plans for their life together: careers, children, and maybe even a house in the country. But life has other plans. Daniel is a trader who works on the 101st floor of the World Trade Center.

Erin is drinking margaritas on a beach in Mallorca, helping her best friend get over a breakup, when she hears a plane has crashed into Daniel’s building. On a television at the smoky hotel bar, she watches his building collapse. She makes her way home with the help of a stranger named Alec, and once there, she haunts Ground Zero, nearby hospitals, and trauma centers, plastering walls and fences with missing-person flyers. But there’s no trace of Daniel.

After accepting Daniel’s death, Erin struggles to get her life back on track but makes a series of bad decisions and begins to live her life in a self-destructive fog of booze and pills. It’s not until she hits rock bottom that she realizes it’s up to her to decide: Was her destiny sealed with Daniel’s? Or is there life after happily ever after?

Review:

Where all the worst pain and suffering in my lifetime meets in a beautiful love story! 
Tabitha Forney brought things to life that we should never forget! If I’m to be honest, this was an event I was scared to read about.
I believe she was touched by souls above while writing “Paper Airplanes”, especially the prologue.(Trigger Warning) She shares the devastation of 9/11 with raw grit, that hurt and made my heart cringe…..It was PERFECT! We should read this and ache and cry and hate it for happening, to go soft would be a disservice. Tabitha’s writing had a beat, it was so visceral…I believe souls lost were giving her their approval.
Tabitha is so beautiful in her writing style, along the way she lead me through a story of love that is so achingly beautiful. 
It is obvious her debut novel was meant to be this. 
I was given this book by the publicist, Booksparks via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

About Tabitha Forney:

Tabitha Forney writes books to appease the voices in her head. Her debut novel, PAPER AIRPLANES, the story of a woman who loses her husband on 9/11, comes out September 7, 2021. Tabitha is a mom, attorney, and yoga devotee who lives in Houston with her three kids and a husband who was on the 85th floor of the North Tower on 9/11 and lived to tell about it. In her spare time, she practices law and ashtanga yoga, plays tennis, and serves on the boards of Inprint Houston and the Center for Science and Law

Tabitha’s Website: http://www.tabithaforney.com/

Live Interview: click link under photo

https://fb.watch/86JnyICH9Q/

Order Kindle Here:

.

Order from Bookhampton in East Hampton, NY:

will add link later, its not working today

Order from World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781647421779

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Germany 🇩🇪, Israel 🇮🇱 & LA, USA 🇺🇸 : Do Not Disclose by Leora Krygier ~ 5⭐️

Published: August 24th, 2021 by She Writes Press

Summary:

Leora, a juvenile court judge, wife, mother, and daughter, is caught in the routine of work, taking care of her family and aging parents. But she’s also a second-generation Holocaust survivor. It’s an identity she didn’t understand was hers until she accidentally discovered a secret file of handwritten notes addressed to her father. A further discovery of a seemingly random WWII postcard in a thrift store sets her on a collision course with the past in this lyrical memoir about secrets hidden within secrets, both present-day and buried deep within wartime Europe.

Review:

Leora Krygier moved me as I flip the pages of her story. She tells it with such delicacy you can feel the pull to hold back and not tell “just too much” like her parents.
The title “Do Not Disclose” had a variable of meanings for me. The main one being that traumas are often kept as close to our own hearts and souls as possible, we order ourselves not to share, Even when we don’t, the pain can still be passed down to the next generation, I think it passes on with even more intensity because of the misunderstanding.. The silence is louder.
Leora’s desire to learn more takes her down such an interesting road! I was totally enamored with the postcard found in clothing at a thrift shop! LOVED THIS!
This story will make your heart swell as she digs deeper! And it will make you want to know more!
Leora is a gifted writer. I enjoyed her poetic cadence that showed up often in the story, I felt as though that was when the book was most alive, But, trust me….the other parts are just as important and just as cool to read, this was where I felt her pull to “Not Disclose” too much.
I loved this book!
I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review!

5 Stars.

About Leora:

I think I wrote my first story at the age of eight, a micro-autobiography. Micro? Because, well, how much can you say at the age of eight? But I guess I was hooked. I also love to take photos with my cameras and iPhone, which is always snug in my back pocket. 

For me, every photo has a story, and every story is a snapshot.

I’m the author of “When She Sleeps” (Toby Press) a New York Public Library Selection for “Best Books for the Teen Age,” and about which Newsweek said, “Krygier’s luminous prose transports the reader.” 

I’m also a former Los Angeles Superior Court judge and the author of “Juvenile Court: A Judge’s Guide for Young Adults and their Parents” (Scarecrow Press). 

I live in Los Angeles with my husband. When I’m not not writing, I love to go to the beach, walk the Santa Monica Mountain trails, and snap lots and lots of photographs.

Website: http://leorakrygier.net

Order Here:

Order at World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781647421595

Author Interview:



#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Long Island, NY, USA 🇺🇸 Blush by Jamie Brenner ~ 5⭐️

Published: June 22, 2021

Summary:

From acclaimed author Jamie Brenner comes a stunning new novel about three generations of women who discover that the trashy novels of a bygone era just might hold the key to saving their family’s coastal winery–and to finding the love that’s eluded them.

For decades, the lush vineyards and majestic manor house of the Hollander Estates winery made it the North Fork of Long Island’s premier destination for lavish parties and romantic day trips. Now the Hollander family fortunes have suffered, and as matriarch Vivian Hollander prepares for the arrival of her daughter and granddaughter for their annual summer reunion, she fears it might be their last. Worse, selling the family legacy to strangers might expose the dark secret she’s harbored for thirty-five years….

Visits to the winery have been bittersweet for Leah Hollander Bailey ever since her father refused to let her take her place in the family business. Now a successful Manhattan shop owner, Leah loves the life she’s built with her husband and daughter–but with her store, and her marriage, at a crossroads, she can’t help but view this year’s pilgrimage home as a sorely needed escape.

College senior Sadie Bailey has a thesis to write, and the towering shelves of the manor’s library offer endless academic inspiration. But when Sadie discovers evidence that her proper Grandma Vivian once ran a book club dedicated to the scandalous women’s novels of decades past, the shockingly outrageous tomes give her new insight into her family’s glory days.

Resurrecting the trashy book club begins as the distraction all three women need. But as they battle to save their birthright and heal old wounds, they just might find that the pages contain everything they need to know about how to fight for what they want–and for the life, and love, they deserve.

Review:

Jamie Brenner is always a perfectly wonderful read!! I truly fell into this one and didn’t want it to end! I think it’s an amazing getaway book, to either take on your getaway or to read to feel like you are on a getaway!
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. #NetGalley #Blush #Jamie Brenner #SummerReads

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

Jamie Brenner grew up in suburban Philadelphia on a steady diet of Jackie Collins and Judith Krantz novels. After college, she left her hometown for New York City to live like the heroines of her favorite books. Her novels include the national bestseller THE FOREVER SUMMER and THE WEDDING SISTERS. Booklist calls her latest novel, BLUSH (Putnam) “a delectable soap opera.” Jamie divides her time between New York City, Philadelphia, and Provincetown.
For contact info, tour dates, and book clubs please visit www.jamiebrenner.com and Instagram @jamiebrennerwrites 

Order Here:


Order from Bookhampton here: Indie Shop in East Hampton, NY that Annie Supports

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9780593085752


Order from World of the Write Review Bookshop

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9780593085752

#Giveaway, #NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Zombieland, NY, USA 🇺🇸 🧟‍♀️ : Lipstick Asylum by Nzondi ~ 5 ⭐️

Published: Friday, September 10th, 2021

⭐️⭐️ LEAVE A COMMENT FOR YOUR A CHANCE TO WIN YOUR VERY OWN COPY ⭐️⭐️

PERFECT FOR AGES 12 & Up! I thoroughly enjoyed it at 51!

Summary:

The Scream Teens are hired to raise the dead as the necro-tainment for a zombie cruise, and the eighteen-year-old animator, Cozy Coleman, is bitten by a shapeshifting she-wolf. To Cozy’s surprise, she survives and with the aid of her friends, helps the government stop a human-extinction virus from spreading. Unfortunately, Cozy uncovers a secret so haunting, that her death is only the beginning of her problems.

Review:

I am typically skeptical of Zombie stories, but Nzondi nails it! I absolutely loved “Lipstick Asylum”! Young Teens and Young Adults will fall in love! 

I was invested so quickly and his introduction to each character was flawless. 

Just as I loved “Warm Bodies” by Isaac Marion, I was deeply invested in the outcome of the story. I loved Cozy Coleman as I loved R  from Marion’s novel from the moment we meet. 

Cozy was just one cool character with a layered storyline that I had to know more about! I love depths of character like this. 

From the very beginning I felt like I was on the “Sea Queen” Zombie themed Cruise Ship observing the scenes unfold as a guest onboard. 

It wasn’t just the banter, it was the music, and the atmosphere combined! Nzondi describes place as its own character and I just devour that.

Nzondi knows his stuff! He is so entertaining in his story telling! 

I was dedicated in one sitting, completely enamored and creeped out at the same time. It the best mix! 

Cozy Coleman is a character I will not soon forget! A Necromancer?!? What a super fun and original concept!

Each character is spectacular! But, I am Team Cozy all the way! 

5 Stars.

About the author:

Nzondi (Ace Antonio Hall) was born Acemandese Nzondi Hall in Queens, New York. Hall received his BFA from C. W. Post, Long Island University. His science fiction/horror work, Oware Mosaic (Omnium Gatherum, September 2019), is the 2019 Bram Stoker Awards® Winner for Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel. Hall is a two-time Honorable Mention winner of the Writers and Illustrators of the Future Award. He is also the author of the novel, Confessions of Sylva Slasher, (Montag Press, April 2013) and a non-fiction book, Lord of the Flies: Fitness for Writers (Omnium Gatherum, April 2017).

Order On Kindle Today:

Author Interview: I had the best time!!

  

Continue reading “#Giveaway, #NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Zombieland, NY, USA 🇺🇸 🧟‍♀️ : Lipstick Asylum by Nzondi ~ 5 ⭐️”

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Germany 🇩🇪 & USA, NY 🇺🇸: Circumference of Silence by Jacquie Herz ~ 5⭐️

Summary:

It’s been a week since the funeral, and Mali is at her mother’s Manhattan apartment ready to pack it up—at least that’s what she thinks—until she discovers a manila envelope, propped up against the back of her mother’s desk, and filled with a mass of unsent letters. Her mother’s handwriting on the lined notepaper is so familiar, and the slight German accent Mali hears ticking through her words, so haunting. 

Mali reads the memories of her mother’s Jewish childhood in 1930s Berlin, then her life in war-torn London. But when she comes to her mother’s account of her too-early marriage and the divorce that forced her to leave her young daughter in London and go to New York, Mali is thrust back into her own unhappy childhood, where that relentless ache for her absent mother, lodged like a stony pit inside her, must now be reconciled.

Review:

Moving, touching; emotions hitting me like a lapping of waves on a shoreline.

I felt like sadness and pride were being poured on to the pages all at once.

My heart was utterly engaged with Mali’s. 

Our emotional scars carry through generations whether we believe we are allowing them to be or not.  What is the weight of them?

Silence can also be deafening.

Mother’s and Daughters are much more bonded than we can imagine. Mali and her mother were like that, and her mother knew it.

(I see it viscerally as an electrical current…It’s a bit unseen when working and flowing well, but has bite to it and a fire can start when something isn’t going well.)

Mali and her mother have so much to work through, even after death. The beauty with which Jacquie writes is as melodic as the heart beating between them.

I love stories told through letters. This one has extra meaning because it covered times in history I enjoy reading about. 

“The Circumference of Silence” by Jacquie Herz is a novel I won’t soon forget.

Brilliant debut novel! 

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

About The Author:

I was born in London, shortly after World War II, to a family of Jewish refugees who had managed to flee Hitler’s Europe—just in time, as the saying goes! When I was eight my parents divorced, and my mother left London to go and live with her own parents who had already immigrated to New York. So, coming to America to be with my mother was my childhood’s life-long dream! And because letter-writing was the only way to communicate with her at the time, writing became an integral and necessary part of my life from that very early age. I was also an avid reader and could easily spend hours at a time inside the halls of my imagination. At thirteen I was sent away to boarding school in Eastbourne, England. And at sixteen, after eight long years of dreaming, I finally arrived in New York, a trunk full of my belongings in tow.

Thankfully, I had a very forgiving chemistry teacher who gave me the passing grade I needed to graduate from the small private high school I was attending in Forest Hills, Queens. College proved just as difficult for me. After leaving at the end of my sophomore year, I went to work at the main branch of the New York Public Library and started back on my mission to complete my degree by taking courses, at first at Brooklyn Community College, and later at Syracuse University, where my husband, Peter, was getting his MBA. After we moved to Connecticut and while Peter and I were running our first business and raising our two young daughters, I graduated with honors from the University of Bridgeport with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Creative Writing.

During our business life, Peter and I launched and sold three companies. Our second was for an accounting/marketing software package that we developed for the Promotional Products Industry. Responsible for writing the manual, I also provided the software support, as well as the training, which required us to visit clients’ offices all over the country. Working in our latest business, my day-to-day job entailed running the factory. In order to source the many products we needed to add to a new catalogue we published every year, we traveled extensively throughout Southeast Asia.

All through those years, I managed to steal enough time to write and attend writers’ conferences and workshops; I was so fortunate to have had the most amazing teachers.

I have been published in the Metropolitan Diary and the Connecticut Section of the New York Times. I am a member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association and the Women’s National Book Association.

After transferring the company to our eldest daughter and her husband, Peter and I currently split our year between Connecticut and Florida. Happily, I am a fulltime writer now and busy at work on my next novel—about a young woman named Hannah.

Authors Website:


https://www.jacquieherz.com/

Watch Jacquie in a panel discussion: World Studios presents Special Edition: Annie & her guests chat about the challenges of writing about the Holocaust.


https://fb.watch/73aRkklISG/

 

Order on Amazon Here:

Order on World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781684337101

Order from Bookhampton:

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9781684337101