#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for 🇺🇸 Washington, USA: Other People’s Things by Kerry Anne King

Published: September 21, 2021

From the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Whisper Me Thiscomes a witty, magical story about improbable connections, difficult gifts, and the unexpected events that heal us and bring us together.

Jailbird. Klepto. Spectacular failure to launch. Nicole Wood’s sticky fingers have earned her many names, but it’s not that she’s stealing—some objects just need to be moved elsewhere, and the universe has chosen her to do it. Still, being a relocator of objects isn’t easy. With her marriage on the rocks, no real-world skills, and the threat of prison hanging over her head, Nicole is determined to change her ways.

Things seem to be looking up, thanks to a godsent job with her sister’s housecleaning business—until she encounters a seemingly harmless paperback that insists on moving from one client’s home to another’s. Nicole hopes no one will notice, but the action stirs up long-hidden secrets and triggers a series of fateful events that threatens to destroy the life she’s creating and hurt those closest to her. She’ll need to embrace her unwieldy gift and take a chance on love in order to unravel the mystery and fix what’s gone wrong. 

Review:

Kudos to King! Kerry Anne King gets better with each book! She always proves to be superbly original!

“Other People’s Things” has me seeing things and people through a new lens. I admire books that move me in this way.

I was spellbound from the moment I opened the book until the very end when it had to let me go, only because it was over! 

In doing so, I found this story of Nicole and the people around her to be so Real! ! Engaging! Funny! Alluring! and, best of all, Satisfying!! 

This is a book I will read again and again and share with friends.

I anxiously await Kerry Anne King’s next novel!

I was given this book by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

Kerry Anne King (who also writes as Kerry Schafer) is a Washington Post and Amazon charts bestselling author who writes compelling and transformational stories about family and personal growth. She loves to add in mystery, humor and an undercurrent of romance, and celebrates when she succeeds in making readers both laugh and cry.

Kerry Anne has been chosen as the 2020 Writer of the Year by the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers Association. Her most recent novel, Everything You Are, is a finalist in the Nancy Pearl Awards hosted by the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. She is enthusiastic about encouraging and supporting other writers and is the host of Tell Me Your Secrets, a videocast/podcast featuring lively, informal interviews with authors and other people involved in bringing books into the world.

When not absorbed in creative pursuits, you’ll find Kerry Anne hanging out with her real life Viking on their little piece of heaven in rural northeastern Washington.

Website: https://allthingskerry.com/blog

Order Kindle Version Here on Amazon:

Order from Bookhampton, to Support My Local Indie Shop in Southampton, NY:

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9781542026239

Paperback, Hard COver & CD

Order from Bookshop to help Indie Bookshops & One Love Dog Rescue which I volunteer:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781542026239

look at ANnies’s FavOrites

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Spain 🇪🇸 & New York, 🇺🇸 : Paper Airplanes by Tabitha Forney. One of my Favorite Reads this Year. ~ 5⭐️

Published: September 7th, 2021 by SparkPress, just in time to honor the 20 year Anniversary of 9/11

Subject:

It’s the end of summer, 2001. Erin O’Connor has everything she’s ever dreamed of: good friends, a high-powered career at a boutique Manhattan firm, and a husband she adores. They have plans for their life together: careers, children, and maybe even a house in the country. But life has other plans. Daniel is a trader who works on the 101st floor of the World Trade Center.

Erin is drinking margaritas on a beach in Mallorca, helping her best friend get over a breakup, when she hears a plane has crashed into Daniel’s building. On a television at the smoky hotel bar, she watches his building collapse. She makes her way home with the help of a stranger named Alec, and once there, she haunts Ground Zero, nearby hospitals, and trauma centers, plastering walls and fences with missing-person flyers. But there’s no trace of Daniel.

After accepting Daniel’s death, Erin struggles to get her life back on track but makes a series of bad decisions and begins to live her life in a self-destructive fog of booze and pills. It’s not until she hits rock bottom that she realizes it’s up to her to decide: Was her destiny sealed with Daniel’s? Or is there life after happily ever after?

Review:

Where all the worst pain and suffering in my lifetime meets in a beautiful love story! 
Tabitha Forney brought things to life that we should never forget! If I’m to be honest, this was an event I was scared to read about.
I believe she was touched by souls above while writing “Paper Airplanes”, especially the prologue.(Trigger Warning) She shares the devastation of 9/11 with raw grit, that hurt and made my heart cringe…..It was PERFECT! We should read this and ache and cry and hate it for happening, to go soft would be a disservice. Tabitha’s writing had a beat, it was so visceral…I believe souls lost were giving her their approval.
Tabitha is so beautiful in her writing style, along the way she lead me through a story of love that is so achingly beautiful. 
It is obvious her debut novel was meant to be this. 
I was given this book by the publicist, Booksparks via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

About Tabitha Forney:

Tabitha Forney writes books to appease the voices in her head. Her debut novel, PAPER AIRPLANES, the story of a woman who loses her husband on 9/11, comes out September 7, 2021. Tabitha is a mom, attorney, and yoga devotee who lives in Houston with her three kids and a husband who was on the 85th floor of the North Tower on 9/11 and lived to tell about it. In her spare time, she practices law and ashtanga yoga, plays tennis, and serves on the boards of Inprint Houston and the Center for Science and Law

Tabitha’s Website: http://www.tabithaforney.com/

Live Interview: click link under photo

https://fb.watch/86JnyICH9Q/

Order Kindle Here:

.

Order from Bookhampton in East Hampton, NY:

will add link later, its not working today

Order from World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781647421779

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Germany 🇩🇪, Israel 🇮🇱 & LA, USA 🇺🇸 : Do Not Disclose by Leora Krygier ~ 5⭐️

Published: August 24th, 2021 by She Writes Press

Summary:

Leora, a juvenile court judge, wife, mother, and daughter, is caught in the routine of work, taking care of her family and aging parents. But she’s also a second-generation Holocaust survivor. It’s an identity she didn’t understand was hers until she accidentally discovered a secret file of handwritten notes addressed to her father. A further discovery of a seemingly random WWII postcard in a thrift store sets her on a collision course with the past in this lyrical memoir about secrets hidden within secrets, both present-day and buried deep within wartime Europe.

Review:

Leora Krygier moved me as I flip the pages of her story. She tells it with such delicacy you can feel the pull to hold back and not tell “just too much” like her parents.
The title “Do Not Disclose” had a variable of meanings for me. The main one being that traumas are often kept as close to our own hearts and souls as possible, we order ourselves not to share, Even when we don’t, the pain can still be passed down to the next generation, I think it passes on with even more intensity because of the misunderstanding.. The silence is louder.
Leora’s desire to learn more takes her down such an interesting road! I was totally enamored with the postcard found in clothing at a thrift shop! LOVED THIS!
This story will make your heart swell as she digs deeper! And it will make you want to know more!
Leora is a gifted writer. I enjoyed her poetic cadence that showed up often in the story, I felt as though that was when the book was most alive, But, trust me….the other parts are just as important and just as cool to read, this was where I felt her pull to “Not Disclose” too much.
I loved this book!
I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review!

5 Stars.

About Leora:

I think I wrote my first story at the age of eight, a micro-autobiography. Micro? Because, well, how much can you say at the age of eight? But I guess I was hooked. I also love to take photos with my cameras and iPhone, which is always snug in my back pocket. 

For me, every photo has a story, and every story is a snapshot.

I’m the author of “When She Sleeps” (Toby Press) a New York Public Library Selection for “Best Books for the Teen Age,” and about which Newsweek said, “Krygier’s luminous prose transports the reader.” 

I’m also a former Los Angeles Superior Court judge and the author of “Juvenile Court: A Judge’s Guide for Young Adults and their Parents” (Scarecrow Press). 

I live in Los Angeles with my husband. When I’m not not writing, I love to go to the beach, walk the Santa Monica Mountain trails, and snap lots and lots of photographs.

Website: http://leorakrygier.net

Order Here:

Order at World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781647421595

Author Interview:



#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Long Island, NY, USA 🇺🇸 Blush by Jamie Brenner ~ 5⭐️

Published: June 22, 2021

Summary:

From acclaimed author Jamie Brenner comes a stunning new novel about three generations of women who discover that the trashy novels of a bygone era just might hold the key to saving their family’s coastal winery–and to finding the love that’s eluded them.

For decades, the lush vineyards and majestic manor house of the Hollander Estates winery made it the North Fork of Long Island’s premier destination for lavish parties and romantic day trips. Now the Hollander family fortunes have suffered, and as matriarch Vivian Hollander prepares for the arrival of her daughter and granddaughter for their annual summer reunion, she fears it might be their last. Worse, selling the family legacy to strangers might expose the dark secret she’s harbored for thirty-five years….

Visits to the winery have been bittersweet for Leah Hollander Bailey ever since her father refused to let her take her place in the family business. Now a successful Manhattan shop owner, Leah loves the life she’s built with her husband and daughter–but with her store, and her marriage, at a crossroads, she can’t help but view this year’s pilgrimage home as a sorely needed escape.

College senior Sadie Bailey has a thesis to write, and the towering shelves of the manor’s library offer endless academic inspiration. But when Sadie discovers evidence that her proper Grandma Vivian once ran a book club dedicated to the scandalous women’s novels of decades past, the shockingly outrageous tomes give her new insight into her family’s glory days.

Resurrecting the trashy book club begins as the distraction all three women need. But as they battle to save their birthright and heal old wounds, they just might find that the pages contain everything they need to know about how to fight for what they want–and for the life, and love, they deserve.

Review:

Jamie Brenner is always a perfectly wonderful read!! I truly fell into this one and didn’t want it to end! I think it’s an amazing getaway book, to either take on your getaway or to read to feel like you are on a getaway!
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. #NetGalley #Blush #Jamie Brenner #SummerReads

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

Jamie Brenner grew up in suburban Philadelphia on a steady diet of Jackie Collins and Judith Krantz novels. After college, she left her hometown for New York City to live like the heroines of her favorite books. Her novels include the national bestseller THE FOREVER SUMMER and THE WEDDING SISTERS. Booklist calls her latest novel, BLUSH (Putnam) “a delectable soap opera.” Jamie divides her time between New York City, Philadelphia, and Provincetown.
For contact info, tour dates, and book clubs please visit www.jamiebrenner.com and Instagram @jamiebrennerwrites 

Order Here:


Order from Bookhampton here: Indie Shop in East Hampton, NY that Annie Supports

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9780593085752


Order from World of the Write Review Bookshop

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9780593085752

#Giveaway, #NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Zombieland, NY, USA 🇺🇸 🧟‍♀️ : Lipstick Asylum by Nzondi ~ 5 ⭐️

Published: Friday, September 10th, 2021

⭐️⭐️ LEAVE A COMMENT FOR YOUR A CHANCE TO WIN YOUR VERY OWN COPY ⭐️⭐️

PERFECT FOR AGES 12 & Up! I thoroughly enjoyed it at 51!

Summary:

The Scream Teens are hired to raise the dead as the necro-tainment for a zombie cruise, and the eighteen-year-old animator, Cozy Coleman, is bitten by a shapeshifting she-wolf. To Cozy’s surprise, she survives and with the aid of her friends, helps the government stop a human-extinction virus from spreading. Unfortunately, Cozy uncovers a secret so haunting, that her death is only the beginning of her problems.

Review:

I am typically skeptical of Zombie stories, but Nzondi nails it! I absolutely loved “Lipstick Asylum”! Young Teens and Young Adults will fall in love! 

I was invested so quickly and his introduction to each character was flawless. 

Just as I loved “Warm Bodies” by Isaac Marion, I was deeply invested in the outcome of the story. I loved Cozy Coleman as I loved R  from Marion’s novel from the moment we meet. 

Cozy was just one cool character with a layered storyline that I had to know more about! I love depths of character like this. 

From the very beginning I felt like I was on the “Sea Queen” Zombie themed Cruise Ship observing the scenes unfold as a guest onboard. 

It wasn’t just the banter, it was the music, and the atmosphere combined! Nzondi describes place as its own character and I just devour that.

Nzondi knows his stuff! He is so entertaining in his story telling! 

I was dedicated in one sitting, completely enamored and creeped out at the same time. It the best mix! 

Cozy Coleman is a character I will not soon forget! A Necromancer?!? What a super fun and original concept!

Each character is spectacular! But, I am Team Cozy all the way! 

5 Stars.

About the author:

Nzondi (Ace Antonio Hall) was born Acemandese Nzondi Hall in Queens, New York. Hall received his BFA from C. W. Post, Long Island University. His science fiction/horror work, Oware Mosaic (Omnium Gatherum, September 2019), is the 2019 Bram Stoker Awards® Winner for Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel. Hall is a two-time Honorable Mention winner of the Writers and Illustrators of the Future Award. He is also the author of the novel, Confessions of Sylva Slasher, (Montag Press, April 2013) and a non-fiction book, Lord of the Flies: Fitness for Writers (Omnium Gatherum, April 2017).

Order On Kindle Today:

Author Interview: I had the best time!!

  

Continue reading “#Giveaway, #NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Zombieland, NY, USA 🇺🇸 🧟‍♀️ : Lipstick Asylum by Nzondi ~ 5 ⭐️”

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Germany 🇩🇪 & USA, NY 🇺🇸: Circumference of Silence by Jacquie Herz ~ 5⭐️

Summary:

It’s been a week since the funeral, and Mali is at her mother’s Manhattan apartment ready to pack it up—at least that’s what she thinks—until she discovers a manila envelope, propped up against the back of her mother’s desk, and filled with a mass of unsent letters. Her mother’s handwriting on the lined notepaper is so familiar, and the slight German accent Mali hears ticking through her words, so haunting. 

Mali reads the memories of her mother’s Jewish childhood in 1930s Berlin, then her life in war-torn London. But when she comes to her mother’s account of her too-early marriage and the divorce that forced her to leave her young daughter in London and go to New York, Mali is thrust back into her own unhappy childhood, where that relentless ache for her absent mother, lodged like a stony pit inside her, must now be reconciled.

Review:

Moving, touching; emotions hitting me like a lapping of waves on a shoreline.

I felt like sadness and pride were being poured on to the pages all at once.

My heart was utterly engaged with Mali’s. 

Our emotional scars carry through generations whether we believe we are allowing them to be or not.  What is the weight of them?

Silence can also be deafening.

Mother’s and Daughters are much more bonded than we can imagine. Mali and her mother were like that, and her mother knew it.

(I see it viscerally as an electrical current…It’s a bit unseen when working and flowing well, but has bite to it and a fire can start when something isn’t going well.)

Mali and her mother have so much to work through, even after death. The beauty with which Jacquie writes is as melodic as the heart beating between them.

I love stories told through letters. This one has extra meaning because it covered times in history I enjoy reading about. 

“The Circumference of Silence” by Jacquie Herz is a novel I won’t soon forget.

Brilliant debut novel! 

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

About The Author:

I was born in London, shortly after World War II, to a family of Jewish refugees who had managed to flee Hitler’s Europe—just in time, as the saying goes! When I was eight my parents divorced, and my mother left London to go and live with her own parents who had already immigrated to New York. So, coming to America to be with my mother was my childhood’s life-long dream! And because letter-writing was the only way to communicate with her at the time, writing became an integral and necessary part of my life from that very early age. I was also an avid reader and could easily spend hours at a time inside the halls of my imagination. At thirteen I was sent away to boarding school in Eastbourne, England. And at sixteen, after eight long years of dreaming, I finally arrived in New York, a trunk full of my belongings in tow.

Thankfully, I had a very forgiving chemistry teacher who gave me the passing grade I needed to graduate from the small private high school I was attending in Forest Hills, Queens. College proved just as difficult for me. After leaving at the end of my sophomore year, I went to work at the main branch of the New York Public Library and started back on my mission to complete my degree by taking courses, at first at Brooklyn Community College, and later at Syracuse University, where my husband, Peter, was getting his MBA. After we moved to Connecticut and while Peter and I were running our first business and raising our two young daughters, I graduated with honors from the University of Bridgeport with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Creative Writing.

During our business life, Peter and I launched and sold three companies. Our second was for an accounting/marketing software package that we developed for the Promotional Products Industry. Responsible for writing the manual, I also provided the software support, as well as the training, which required us to visit clients’ offices all over the country. Working in our latest business, my day-to-day job entailed running the factory. In order to source the many products we needed to add to a new catalogue we published every year, we traveled extensively throughout Southeast Asia.

All through those years, I managed to steal enough time to write and attend writers’ conferences and workshops; I was so fortunate to have had the most amazing teachers.

I have been published in the Metropolitan Diary and the Connecticut Section of the New York Times. I am a member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association and the Women’s National Book Association.

After transferring the company to our eldest daughter and her husband, Peter and I currently split our year between Connecticut and Florida. Happily, I am a fulltime writer now and busy at work on my next novel—about a young woman named Hannah.

Authors Website:


https://www.jacquieherz.com/

Watch Jacquie in a panel discussion: World Studios presents Special Edition: Annie & her guests chat about the challenges of writing about the Holocaust.


https://fb.watch/73aRkklISG/

 

Order on Amazon Here:

Order on World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781684337101

Order from Bookhampton:

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9781684337101

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport: 🇫🇷 🇦🇷 France & Argentina! Exploring Wine Regions – Bordeaux France: Discover the Rich Heritage of the French Wine & Culinary Scene in Bordeaux France & Exploring Wine Regions: Argentina: A Culinary, Agricultural and Interesting Journey Through Argentina by Michael C. Higgins

#StampYourPassport for both France 🇫🇷 & Argentina 🇦🇷 ! Take a trip through the Vineyards, learn about the Wine, the food, the beautiful scenery and atmosphere that will surround you from amazing homes to gorgeous horses running around! Michael Higgins takes you on a luxurious Tour right right from wherever you are sitting! And, get to know him, because he is about to start an amazing Show at World Of the Write Review called “Book & Wine Tasting”!!

Summary:

Exploring Wine Regions – Bordeaux France is the second book in its series that brings a unique approach in educating and inspiring readers about the wine regions of the world. Bordeaux takes you on a journey exploring the long and fascinating history of wine, gastronomy, castles and joie de vivre, the French way of living life. The perfect companion for any wine lover or travel enthusiast.

With a passion for wine and travel, author and photographer Michael C. Higgins delves deep into the history of Bordeaux, which he refers to as the “center of the universe for wine.” Combining wine education, insiders travel guide and his spectacular photography, Higgins continues to dazzle his audience with another informative and beautiful book. Higgins helps readers understand the complexities of Bordeaux wine by presenting each region separately and explaining their nuances. He helps them navigate their own way through this historic wine region by highlighting the chateaux, including the ones where you can stay in their castles, restaurants and experiences with detailed maps and insider tips.

With breathtaking photography and personal commentary, readers are mesmerized by the Bordeaux world of wine, food and travel. Extensive resources are provided for wine lovers who want to know where to go, what to look for, what questions to ask, and how to understand complex answers. Everyone can learn how to develop a palate to appreciate the finest wine and food the French has to offer. Both connoisseurs and novices turn to this book series for insider information and inspiration. A must-have book for expanding your knowledge of Bordeaux and its wines.

Review:

“Exploring Wine Regions – Bordeaux France” by Michael C. Higgins has opened my eyes to the beautiful Bordeaux wine region of France. Now my love affair with France has even more to love!

The beauty that Michael C. Higgins brings forth is simply outstanding! Between the writing and the photography, I felt like I’d taken a vacation as I flipped the pages! Both alluring and inviting, a lot of photos took my breathe away! Stunning, Fancy, Warm, Glorious and captivating!

The Buildings, like homes and castles are so appealing they feel like fairy-tales! I am in awe! To me they are magical.

To feel like I was standing at among the vineyards sipping on a glass of wine has been such a gift! Michael C. Higgins is very talented. We need more of these books!

I was given a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

Summary:

Exploring Wine Regions is a unique book series that incorporates the beauty of a quality coffee table piece, an elaborate travel guide, an inspiring wine education, spectacular photography, and captivating adventures into the depths of travel, food and wine connoisseurship. It is the Leading Insiders Guide to exploring the wine regions of the world uncovering extraordinary winemakers, chefs and sommeliers. It includes detailed information to plan and travel to see the most interesting wineries, restaurants and resorts located in these beautiful wine regions. Agronomists, Oenologists, Vintners, Chefs, Sommeliers, and Outdoor Adventurers are interviewed in-depth to give you the inside track to Exploring Wine Regions of the world.” 

Review:

Micheal C. Higgins obviously has an amazing eye for taking the right “shot”! He captures Argentina’s Wine Country in such a way that now it is on my bucket list to visit!

I am in love with Malbec’s and to read that Higgins “hadn’t met a Malbec he hasn’t liked” was just super exciting because it became my favorite wine after I received a bottle as a gift from a friend that went to Argentina.

I was so enticed by the horses and food. It felt like I was alongside Michael as he visited Argentina. He shares this part of the world to us like a genius! Everything is delicious! Everything is exciting!

This book can certainly serve as a travel guide. We need more books like this. I trust everyone can enjoy this book, even those that want to take a trip without leaving their home. Micheal C. Higgins provides us with a truly sensational romp through Argentina’s Wine Country. Beautiful, Warm, Inviting, Glamorous, and quite lovely!

Everyone that enjoys wine needs this book!

I was given a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.


BEST TRAVEL BOOK OF 2020
-New York City Big Book Award
-Best Travel Guidebook of 2021
-25th Annual IPPY Awards
-Best Regional Book of 2021
-Next Generation Indie Book Awards
-Best Wine and Travel Book of 2020
-Pinnacle Book Achievement Award
-Best Travel Guide of 2020
+American BookFest’s Best Book Award
-2nd Best Travel Book of 2021
-Benjamin Franklin Awards
-2nd Best Wine Book of 2021
-National Indie Excellence Award
-2nd Best Travel Book of 2021
-National Indie Excellence Award
-2nd Best Travel Guide of 2021
-International Book Awards
-2nd Best Photography Book of 2021
-Book Excellence Awards
-Honorable Mention – Best Travel Book of 2020
Forward INDIE Awards

About Author/Photographer:

For more than 20 years, author, photographer and wine expert, Michael C. Higgins has been the publisher of Flying Adventures magazine, a lifestyle travel publication for food and wine lovers who own and travel on private airplanes. As a private pilot, travel enthusiast, and food and wine lover himself, Higgins continues to live the story he’s been sharing for decades.

Between the magazine and this book series, Higgins has participated in some of the most extraordinary experiences. He has virtually done it all: from pruning vines, picking grapes, working alongside winemakers, to participating in blind tastings, food and wine pairings, judging Cru Bourgeois wines, and sharing many meals with world renowned winemakers, over countless hours, discussing everything wine. His time in the wine regions add up to thousands of days and counting. And as an accomplished photographer, he has captured even more spectacular images of the wine world.

Higgins has participated in many unique wine experiences, indulged in the most exclusive culinary affairs, been pampered in highly luxurious destinations and jumped into the wildest of adventures. His goal is to inspire his readers to join him in exploring the wine regions of the world and experiencing the unimaginable. Higgins has a BA in Commercial Art, an MBA and a PhD in Business Administration. He is a California native and lives in Pasadena, California.

Starting New Show at World of the Write Review called “Book & Wine Tasting”

Join Michael C. Higgins and his guest for an enjoyable taste of their books and a wine that should go great with their book while you are reading it. Authors: Contact Annie McDonnell at World of the Write Review to be Guest.

Order Here:

Order from World of the Write Review Bookshop (10% Goes to One Love Dog Rescue):

Bordeaux, France

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9780996966023

Argentina:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9780996966016

#WorldVoices Inaugural Newsletter. Summer. Vol. 1

We are all so proud to offer our first edition of “World Voices”. We have contributions from authors such as Janet Oakley, Meryl Ain, Heidi Daniele, Soraya Lane, Kristine Ohkubo and more! All of our Contributing Reviewers and myself offered our Summer Book Recommendations! Our Member, Erica Firkin shared some neat exercises we could do when we take breaks from reading….and, so much more!! Take a look and enjoy!
Please be sure to fill out our contact form so it can be delivered directly to your email in September when we set up our Winter Edition.

#BlogTour, #NewRelease, #BookReview, #Excerpt & #Interview: Kill all Your Darlings by David Bell ~ 5⭐️

Date of Release: Tuesday, July 6, 2021

Summary:


When a student disappears and is presumed dead, her professor passes off her manuscript as his own–only to find out it implicates him in an unsolved murder in this new thriller from the USA Today bestselling author of The Request

After years of struggling to write following the deaths of his wife and son, English professor Connor Nye publishes his first novel, a thriller about the murder of a young woman.

There’s just one problem: Connor didn’t write the book. His missing student did. And then she appears on his doorstep, alive and well, threatening to expose him.

Connor’s problems escalate when the police insist details in the novel implicate him in an unsolved murder from two years ago. Soon Connor discovers the crime is part of a disturbing scandal on campus and faces an impossible dilemma–admit he didn’t write the book and lose his job or keep up the lie and risk everything. When another murder occurs, Connor must clear his name by unraveling the horrifying secrets buried in his student’s manuscript.

This is a suspenseful, provocative novel about the sexual harassment that still runs rampant in academia–and the lengths those in power will go to cover it up.

Review:

If there is one thing I know, it’s that I will read a book by David Bell each summer, love it and want to share my opinion about it with the world!


“Kill All Your Darlings” is yet another novel written by David Bell that began my summer with the sizzling temptation to flip the pages because I had to know the answers to his wicked mind tricks, keeping me up late until the night.


This is a truly incendiary storyline with a constant rousing of suspicion that I could actually feel my blood heat up!


The whodunit was rattling me! The wanting a certain someone to be innocent was so powerful! The Dog comforting the protagonist!! This was an inspiring recipe for success!


I couldn’t recommend this book more. Make your summer #ADavidBellSummer

I received a copy of this book from Berkley Books via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

EXCERPT:

Now that it’s out, I feel agitated, restless. My thoughts are a jumble. “Do you want a drink or something?” I ask. “I think I need bourbon.”

“Sure,” she says. “I always drank when you paid.”

I go back out to the kitchen, Grendel at my heels. It’s cold out, and I’d turned the heat down when I left the house. But I feel flushed, sweaty. Almost like I have a fever. I open the corner cabinet and take down a bottle of Rowan’s Creek and two glasses. When Jake was born, twenty years ago, Emily’s brother gave me a bottle of Rowan’s Creek, so whenever I drink it, I think of my son. My hand shakes as I pour.

Grendel starts eating. I hear his chomping in the corner. 

“You were drinking a lot when I last saw you.”

I turn toward Madeline. She’s standing in the doorway from the living room, leaning against the jamb.

“I was,” I say. “I’ve cut back. A lot. I had to.” I hand her the glass, trying to control the trembling. “But I think I could use one or maybe two tonight.”

“I guess it isn’t every day that a ghost shows up in your house.”

I swallow and lean back against the counter. “They looked for you, Madeline. Searches all over campus and town. It was on the news. Some people thought you just up and ran off on a whim. Some students do that. Impulse trips.”

“Some kids can afford to do that.”

“Right. But they looked in your apartment. You left all your books and clothes behind. You were an excellent student, anhonors student, a few months away from getting a degree. And you stopped coming to class. The police questioned everybodywho’d had any contact with you, including me. Especially mebecause we were all at the bar that night.”

“And I left Dubliners right after you did.”

“Right. Some of this is fuzzy. How I got home . . . how I evenman- aged to get my key in the lock and get inside . . . I kind of think you came with me . . . but I don’t know how far . . .”

“Out in the living room you were talking about the book,” shesays, arms crossed, glass in front of her. “After you read it andwanted to talk to me and I was gone.”

I finish my first glass and pour another. This is it, I tell myself. Just two drinks.

“You know I have to publish to get tenure,” I say. “That’s theway to survive in academia.”

“I’ve heard about that.” “Publish or perish, they call it.” “It sounds awfully bleak.”

“It can be,” I say. “And I hadn’t published anything in the sevenyears I’d been here. That book of stories Autumn Sunset cameout when I was still in graduate school, so it didn’t count. If youdon’t get tenure, you get fired. And if I didn’t get tenure here, I probably wouldn’t get hired anywhere else. They’d see I failedto produce, and no one would touch me. Why would they want a middle-aged guy with a huge blank spot in his publicationrecord?”

“You could tell them about your family,” Madeline says.

“Sure. And the university here gave me an extra year for bereavement. I still couldn’t produce a book or even a few stories.” Grendel appears to be finished eating. He slurps some water, shakes his head, and goes back out to his perch on thecouch. “Dr. White, the department chair, is a pretty good friend.And he really looked out for me. But he could only do so much. And he was really on me, reminding me what was at stake. He kept telling me, ‘Just produce something, Connor.’”

“No pressure, right? Hurry up and write an entire book whileyou’re grieving.”

“Life goes on at some point.” I drink some more. “The worlddoesn’t stop forever. Six months had passed after youdisappeared. Six months. No one really said it out loud, but everybody was thinking the same thing. After a few days—a week, really—people were thinking the worst had happened. That you weren’t coming back. That you were dead. Murdered. Even your mom said it in an interview she did with the local paper. Does she know you’re—”

“I’ll call her soon,” Madeline says, her voice sharp. “You just finish telling me about the book and how all of this happened.”

We’ve reversed roles. She’s asking the questions. She’s playing the part of authority figure. And I feel compelled to answer herand give a full accounting of myself.

“I had your book,” I say. “Almost all handwritten. And you were gone. And I had an agent interested in my writing from years ago, although I wasn’t even sure she still knew I existed. I tookyour handwrit- ten book and retyped it on my computer.”

“You gave me a hard time about turning in a handwritten draft. I told you my computer died.”

“It turned out to be to my advantage. I made some of therevisions as I went along. I kept telling myself I wasn’t going to send it anywhere, that I was just going to type the book out as anexercise, a way to get my own creative juices flowing again. Butthe deadline was coming up for my tenure review. And I really wasn’t sure how I would handle it if I lost this job. On top ofeverything else, to be unemployed with nowhere to go.”

Madeline shows concern as she listens. She’s nodding,encouraging me to keep talking. And it feels good, really good,to finally unburden myself of the secret I’ve been carrying around for the past eighteen months. Even if I am unburdeningmyself to the person most directly harmed by my actions.

“It’s so hard to get a book published,” I say. “What are thechances for anyone? It was a whim. A Hail Mary play. But my agent loved the story. And within a few weeks, an editor lovedit. And bought it. I kept telling myself to speak up, to tell them itwasn’t mine. But the train just kept gathering momentum and . .. I have to be honest . . . after every- thing that had gone wrong for me, after all my struggles with writing, to hear people sayingsuch nice things felt really, really good.”

I look at her, and she swallows some of her bourbon. The lookon her face has shifted, from concern and understanding tosomething I can’t really read. Her eyes look flat and cold, palemarbles staring back at me.

“I’m sorry, Madeline,” I say. “I really am.”

She takes her time responding, and then says, “Don’t worry. Ididn’t show up here without a plan for how you’ll make this allright.”

“Excerpted from KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS by David Bell, published by Berkley, an imprint of Penguin Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Random House, LLC. Copyright © 2021 by David Bell”

A Conversation with David Bell:

How would you describe KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS?

KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS is a fast-paced thriller that tells the story of Connor Nye, a creative writing professor who is struggling to get over the death of his wife and son in an accident. One of his best students turns in an honors thesis—a novel—and then disappears and is presumed dead. Connor passes the book off as his own, and then the student turns up very much alive. And then the police show up because the book Connor passed off as his own implicates him in an unsolved cold case murder. Things get worse from there.

You’ve written over ten novels, while also being a college professor. Why now did you decide to write a story set on a college campus? What inspired you to write the book?

I’ve had the idea for this novel in the back of my head for a long time. Years. And I’ve tried on a few different occasions to get it off the ground and never could get it right. Finally, I cracked the code and went for it in 2021. Since I’m a professor at a university, I think about the academic world all the time. And since I’m a suspense writer who produces a book every year I’m always on the lookout for a good story. It was inevitable I’d set one on a campus.

During my time as a graduate student and then as a professor, I’ve seen more than one case of a professor abusing their power and pursuing inappropriate relationships with their students. I’ve seen the toll this takes on the students and the entire community. We’ve made progress on this issue, but it hasn’t gone away, so I hope my book calls attention to the problem while it also entertains the reader.

How do you think KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS differs from your previous books? 

The subject matter and setting are different. More than anything, I wanted to push myself in the way the story is told. The book uses multiple points of view and goes back and forth in time, and these are techniques I’ve never employed to this extent before. However, I thought the story—which is complex and tangled—could only be told in such an unusual way. Each of the characters knows a part of the story, and the events stretch across time with the past very much affecting the present. Telling the story this way certainly created challenges for me because it meant a lot of balls were in the air. So I had to learn to juggle as I went along.

While writing the book did you come across anything in writing about campus life that surprised you? Did you interview anyone for the book to get some ideas on how to characterize anyone? 

Obviously, I know the academic world very well since I’ve been working in it so long. It’s a unique setting, rather different than other workplaces. As I developed the idea for the book, I did speak to some of my colleagues and some of my students, asking them if they had experiences that were similar to the ones I was going to be writing about. I was surprised to learn that so many people I know have experienced or witnessed the kind of harassment that is depicted in the book. I’m not exactly a Pollyanna, but I was still surprised. And not in a good way.

In KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS, some of Connor’s colleagues look down at him writing a mystery novel. You’re currently the head of the creative writing program—has anyone ever thought that you “ought” to be writing the next “Great American Novel” instead of mysteries or thrillers?  

Hey, who says the “Great American Novel”—whatever that is—can’t be a mystery or a thriller? I tell you what, if it was a mystery or a thriller, a heck of a lot more people would read it. And they wouldn’t be bored by it. But to answer the question, yes, there is absolutely a snobbish attitude among a fair number of my academic brethren when it comes to writing anything that might be remotely popular or accessible. At the same time, I have plenty of colleagues who not only read my books but they also read the work of other thriller writers. As I always tell my students, don’t write what you think other people want you to write. Write what you want to write. We can only follow our own paths and not worry about others. 

Your protagonist Connor develops great rapport with his students, how have some of your students reacted to your books when they’ve read them? 

Some people assume that all of my students would read my books. The truth is I have plenty of students who probably have no idea that I’ve written or published any books. But some students read them and tell me they enjoy them. I have a rule—I don’t count it as a real compliment if a student praises one of my books while they’re in my class. That strikes me as an easy way to score brownie points. Now if a student compliments one of my books years after they’ve graduated and I can no longer give them a grade, I take that to be sincere.

Since being in a college classroom for 16 years, how have you seen the dynamics of college change?

In many ways, things don’t change. I’m not sure students are vastly different now than they were when I was in college back during the Revolutionary War. Certain things are universal. Students are trying to figure out who they are and what they’re going to do. They worry about their grades. They like to have a good time—too good sometimes. They want to fall in love.

But many things are different. Technology for one. There was no social media when I was in school. (Thank the Lord.) It barely existed when I started teaching. More than anything else, I think the economics of college continue to get worse, and the book reflects this. It’s harder and harder for working and middle class students to pay their way. Madeline O’Brien is one of those students struggling to get by. She has to work long hours at a job in a grocery store in order to come close to keeping her head above water. As someone who went through school on student loans and financial aid, I understand, but I think the costs are getting further and further out of control. Let’s face it, even the professors have a hard time getting by on shrinking salaries. The financial picture is bleak

Why do you think KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS is so important to today’s times? 

As I said above, we’ve made progress in terms of how students are treated on campus. And we’ve taken steps to eliminate harassing behavior. But change only comes completely when people are aware, and I think—among some people—there is a tendency to say, “Hey, we had the MeToo movement so there’s no more harassment.” That’s absolutely not true. In my own small way, I’m trying to call attention to this issue while also writing an entertaining thriller. And the book is a reminder that students are vulnerable in a lot of ways, and those in power have an obligation to protect them.

What do you think readers who are entering college now would find surprising when reading KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS versus and readers who have been out of college for a while? 

I think it would be the amount of pressure on the students. It’s not just the things that happen in the classroom. It’s the tremendous economic pressure so many students and their families face. It’s the profound worry about what the future is going to look like. All of these pressures take a toll on the mental health of the students. And colleges themselves are facing enormous economic pressures as states cut funding and invest less in our educational system. Something needs to change, but I’m not sure it will.

Author Bio:

David Bell is a USA Today bestselling and award-winning suspense novelist. His most recent thriller from Berkley/Penguin is KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS. His previous novels include THE REQUEST, LAYOVER, SOMEBODY’S DAUGHTER, BRING HER HOME, SINCE SHE WENT AWAY, SOMEBODY I USED TO KNOW, THE FORGOTTEN GIRL, NEVER COME BACK, THE HIDING PLACE, and CEMETERY GIRL. He is currently a Professor of English at Western Kentucky University and can be reached via his website at www.davidbellnovels.com, on Twitter at Twitter.com/davidbellnovels, and on Facebook at Facebook.com/davidbellnovels.

Order Kindle or Audible Here:

Order from World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9780593198667

Order from Bookhampton Indie Bookshop in East Hampton, NY:

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9780593198674

#BookReview: Walking Among the Trees by Frank M. Oliva ~ 5⭐️

Date of Release: June 22, 2021

Publisher: Sage’s Tower Publishing

Summary:

After notifying the bishop that a young girl possessed by an invisible demon must be exorcised immediately, Father Nathaniel Kerrigan is shocked when the bishop insists he perform the ritual. Panicked, Kerrigan calls on his old friend and trusted mentor, Monsignor Carmichael, to convince the bishop he should use another priest instead. But when Kerrigan claims he wants out because he has no experience with the preternatural, Carmichael fears there is much more at stake than Kerrigan’s letting on. As Carmichael drags Kerrigan on a dark and painful journey through a secluded nature preserve, it soon becomes clear the real reason Kerrigan is so desperate to avoid the confrontation is that the demon inside the girl has a window into his hidden past.

Review:

A Debut Novel at its finest!

Frank Oliva wrote this exorcist thriller with such precision, I had no doubt his “day” job required very specific details in order to excel.

He is a smart, clever writer with an keen eye for knowing how to deliver fear with a nice touch of anticipation!

Every character is so rich and deep. I felt attached to them, especially Monsignor Carmichael and Harout.

Frank Oliva puts words into sentences and quotes that completely made me feel a sense of uneasiness.
I found myself closing my eyes, tight! Scared of what was to come.

This story made me squirm with a hair raising creepiness that actually had me scream out loud at times when I least expected it.
I was acutely aware of how scared I was, and I really loved it!

This storyline is so multilayered that my excitement grew with each flip of the page.

To be so richly developed and scary at the same time reminded me of reading my only Stephen King novel, “Misery”. I trust it is because of Frank Oliva’s ability to dig deeply into the emotions of each character, making them so complex that their own fears are brought to the surface…leaving you vulnerable as the reader.

“Walking Among the Trees” kept growing thicker, deeper….and, scarier! Nicely paced!
Seeming like such a metaphor as these two priests share stories as they step further into the Trees…but, even deeper still as the the story leads up to the very end that I was not prepared for!! I dare you to be ready!

My “Walks Among the Trees” will never be the same!

Frank Oliva is one to watch!

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

Frank Michael Oliva is a practicing attorney and law professor from Long Island, New York. As a teenager, he worked as a receptionist at the rectory of his local parish and developed a close relationship with one of the priests, a former English teacher. Their philosophical conversations about the nature of good and evil left a lasting impression on Frank and inspired him to write his first novel, Walking Among the Trees, nearly two decades later. When he isn’t busy working or writing, Frank can be found spending time with his wife and twin children, reading, or playing video games.

FRANK’S WEBSITE, click HOME above:

Purchase on Amazon Here:

Purchase at World of the Write Review Bookshop Here:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781637060209

Purchase at Bookhampton Here:

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9781637060216

Live Interview with Frank Oliva

“2 Truths & a Lie”Game with thriller authors, Lucinda Berry & Aggie Blum Thompson: