#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Baltimore, USA 🇺🇸 with ”Stand by Me” by Pat Simmons 

Published November 2nd, 2021 by Sourcebooks Casablanca

Summary:

Acclaimed inspirational African American romance author Pat Simmons brings you a love story filled to the brim with everything you’re looking for: Emotional, poignant fiction that explores what it means to take care of familyChristian romance that delves into the connection between two peopleAn uplifting story about embracing love and giving others–and yourself–one more chanceWhen it comes to being a caregiver, Kym Knicely has been there and done that. Then she meets Charles Chaz Banks and soon learns that every caregiving situation is different. Chaz takes care of his seven-year-old autistic granddaughter, Chauncy. Although Kym’s attraction to Chaz is strong, she has to decide whether a romantic relationship can survive and thrive between two people at different stages in life. It’s a journey with a different set of rules that Kym has to play by if she and Chaz are to have their happily ever after and the faith and family they envision.

Review:


Pat Simmons delivers a totally satisfying story between the pages of the exceptional covers! 
This is the book to read on a crisp day, wrapped in a blanket with hot cocoa! This feels like the ideal times of year, although I can see myself grabbing this as I run to the beach!
This love story captured my attention and made sure I fell in love, too! 
“Stand by Me” will renew your hope or expand it…whichever you need.

I was given a copy of this book by the author in exchange for a fair and honest Review. 

5 Stars.

#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Ohio, USA 🇺🇸 & Berlin, Germany 🇩🇪 with ”The Lion’s Den” (Book 1 in the Series) by Eoin Dempsey

Published October 29th, 2021

Summary:

A broken family. A new opportunity in a country on the precipice of unspeakable evil.

November 1932. Seamus Ritter, a widower with four children, returns from riding the rails in an America crippled by the great depression. Realizing that his homecoming will not be how he envisioned it, and in a desperate attempt to make amends with his 16-year-old daughter, Maureen, Seamus accepts an invitation to come and work for his long-lost uncle in Berlin. With little other choice, Seamus takes the ship to Germany with his family. Maureen leaves everything to go with her father she no longer trusts, dedicated to taking care of her younger siblings.

The Germany the Ritter family encounters is vastly different than the one Seamus spent time living in as a child. An upstart politician called Adolf Hitler has come to the fore, but surely it’s only a matter of time before the right-thinking members of society banish him to the fringes of the political landscape he emerged from.

As the Ritter family struggles to adjust to life in a country ravaged by unemployment and internal strife, Seamus meets Lisa, a beautiful and mysterious woman weighed down by the ghosts of her past life. When tragedy strikes, Lisa and Seamus will be forced to act together to save their lives and build a future together in a nation that, unbeknownst to the citizens there, is about to descend into the greatest evil the world has ever known.

Review:

“The Lion’s Den” is such an adequate name for Eion Dempsey’s newest release. It can be read after the prequel “The Way Home”. You can get the prequel FREE at Eoin’s website and meet Seamus, the main character.

Eoin Dempsey always writes on the very pulse of Hitler-era Germany, and in “The Lion’s Den” he introduces us to a pre-Hitler Berlin. Eoin captures the tone of the German people as the first whispers of Adolf Hitler’s name and voice are heard. It is hard to believe that Eoin didn’t live in this era, because I felt so close to the very rumblings of the people. 

The strife starting the crack the very core of the heart of Germany is witnessed as we fall in love with the Ritter family. 

It is unimaginable what strengths Seamus must have had to muster four children as a widow at this time. He meets a woman named Lisa that grew on me. As they team up, I was practically rooting out loud for them.

The historical references are inspiring. His stories are so visceral, you join the story as if you’ve stepped into the pages. Your heart and soul are so invested in the outcome, it is hard to put down.

No one writes a Novel about Hitler like Eoin Dempsey. 

I received a copy of this novel from the author in exchange fir a fair and honest review. I loved it so much, I bought the print copy for my library.

5 Stars.

About the Author:

Eoin Dempsey was born in Dublin, Ireland in 1977. He grew up in the beautiful Dublin suburb of Dalkey, where he and his friends would jump into the icy waters of the Irish Sea (during summertime) to prove their manliness. Eoin had a fantastic time attending Blackrock College, where he played rugby (poorly) and did his best to coast his way through. Eoin’s first ambition was to play rugby for Ireland. Due to a lack of talent, he soon abandoned that goal for the more reasoned path of the rock star. He played in bands through his teens and well into his twenties before harsh reality came calling, and his dreams of being the next Keith Moon faded. 

Eoin made the ill-reasoned decision to study business in university and was accepted into University College Dublin to study Commerce in 1995. While Eoin did attend college, studying wasn’t his priority there. 

He met his beautiful wife, Jill, while traveling to the USA in 1997, though it would be several years before he managed to break her down and they got together as a couple. It was during Eoin’s second stint in the USA, which he spent with his brother in New York City, that he decided to start writing a novel, for the express purpose of impressing women. This effort was met with mixed success. Eoin finished his first novel a year later. The over hundred and fifty rejections he received from publishers didn’t discourage him. He pinned them to his wall. After spending a year in Australia, where he was fired from many jobs, including picking red and green peppers and toiling for scallops miles out to sea on a fishing trawler, he returned home and decided to write again. Another novel followed while he phoned it in at a number of jobs in financial services in Dublin. 

By this time Eoin had managed to convince Jill, the girl he’d met in the USA years before to move over to Dublin. She did so in 2004. It was the best negotiation he ever undertook. They were married in 2007. Jill’s more brilliant negotiating skills led Eoin to move to her hometown of Philadelphia in 2008, just in time for the economy to collapse. The plan to live with her parents for a few weeks turned into eighteen months, as Eoin struggled to retain employment in a fractured economy. It was during this time that he wrote FINDING REBECCA, which would go on to be his first published novel and be translated into fourteen different languages. 

Eoin and Jill have three beautiful sons, Robbie, who was born in 2015, Sam, born in 2017, and Jack who came in 2019. Eoin enjoys playing with them and marveling at how much more talented they are at the sports that he loves, particularly golf. 

Eoin’s website with the link to the FREE prequel, ”The Way Home”

https://www.eoindempseybooks.com

Order here on Kindle:

https://amzn.to/3Ewslpj

#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for USA  🇺🇸 with The Desert Flowers – Lily (The Desert Sage Inn Series Book 2) by Judith Keim ~ 5⭐️  

Published October 14th, 2021

Summary:

Three talented women are brought together by a man they all love, becoming his Desert Flowers, who work together to save his hotel from being ruined by the company buying it…

When Lily Weaver is asked to help Alec Thurston, the one man she’s ever truly loved, and to come to Palm Desert, California, she doesn’t hesitate. He’s dying of cancer and needs her help in overseeing the sale of his hotel, The Desert Sage Inn, to another hotel group. For five wonderful years, she was his assistant at the hotel until he kindly told her their relationship was getting too serious, and he helped her find other work. With her organizational skills and attention to detail, she’s his perfect choice to oversee the details of the sale to help make a smooth transition while maintaining the reputation of the upscale property. Unappreciated in her job with a law firm in New York State, she’s eager to leave it and the cold weather to head for the desert. Her only regret is leaving her sister and three-year-old niece behind. Lily arrives at Alec’s house to find two other women summoned to help him. Rose Macklin was once the social director at Alec’s hotel, and Willow Sanchez is like a daughter to him. They join forces to help him, lovingly accepting his nickname for them—the Desert Flowers, similar to the well-known Charlie’s Angels. As Lily forms her friendship with the other women, she becomes intrigued with the man the hotel company has put in control of the transition. Brian Walden is a war veteran who has never married and is someone who Lily finds, to her delight, she can talk to about most anything when they meet up for early morning walks. Disaster strikes them both as they’re falling in love. Lily ends up having to raise her niece, and Brian is left with a son he never knew he had. It seems only natural that they turn to one another for help, and Lily wonders if this is as Alec might have planned all along. A series for those who love stories about strong women facing challenges and finding love and happiness along the way. Be sure to read the other upcoming books in the series: Lily, Willow, and Mistletoe and Holly Other series written by Judith Keim are receiving a lot of love: The Hartwell Women Series, The Beach House Hotel Series, The Fat Fridays series, the Salty Key Inn Series, the Chandler Hill Inn series, and the books in the Seashell Cottage Collection. 

Review:

“Lily” is the 2nd book in Judith Keim’s Desert Flower Series.


I was so excited to get to know Lily better. Each of these stories is only going to make me care more deeply about these women!


I can always count on Judith Keim to deliver a story to my door that will take me on a vacation where I meet people I fall in love with in a place I want to visit! Her stories feel so very familiar, simply because she writes with such heart!


I look forward to Willow arriving in February, 2022! Judith’s books are always a hit!

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

About Author:

Judith Keim enjoyed her childhood and young-adult years in Elmira, New York, and now makes her home in Boise, Idaho, with her husband and their two dachshunds, Winston and Wally, and other members of her family. 

While growing up, she was drawn to the idea of writing stories from a young age. Books were always present, being read, ready to go back to the library, or about to be discovered. All in her family shared information from the books in general conversation, giving them a wealth of knowledge and vivid imaginations. 

A hybrid author who both has a publisher and self-publishes, Ms. Keim writes heart-warming novels about women who face unexpected challenges, meet them with strength, and find love and happiness along the way. Her best-selling books are based, in part, on many of the places she’s lived or visited and on the interesting people she’s met, creating believable characters and realistic settings her many loyal readers love. Ms. Keim loves to hear from her readers and appreciates their enthusiasm for her stories. 

Website: http://judithkeim.com/

Order on Amazon Here: https://amzn.to/3DMUMz7

#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Paris, France 🇫🇷 with Sophie Valroux’s Paris Stars by Samantha Vérant ~ 5⭐️ 

Published on October 19th, 2021 by Berkley Books

Summary:

In this delectable novel, a chef on the rise fuels her passion for cooking while enduring the hardest challenges she’s ever faced after a debilitating injury. 

Everybody wants a piece of grand chef Sophie Valroux. With her once-destroyed reputation fully recovered and then some, Sophie is making her mark in the culinary world. She’s running the restaurants of Château de Champvert, the beautiful estate that she inherited from her grandmother. She and her fiancé, Rémi, are closer than ever, and she’s even bonding with his daughter Lola. Everything should be perfect.

Yet, Sophie still feels something in her heart is missing.

When she’s invited to cook at an exclusive event her culinary idol is attending, she thinks this could be the thing to catapult her to greater heights, maybe even bring her one step closer to her one and only dream of achieving the stars–Michelin stars.

But fate has other plans for Sophie. After she accepts to cook for the Parisian elite, her world crumbles. She suffers a fall and loses her senses of smell and taste. Certain that her career will vanish if people find out, she keeps this secret to herself, not even telling Rémi. She fakes it all: the menus for every meal, the taste of fresh figs, the juicy cherries in the orchard. All she has to do is get through life–and the event–tasteless without missing a single step. Fake it ’til you make it…right?

Review:

If there were recipes included, I might have had to “Spend my year as Sophie Valroux”. This was  blog I loved that was done by a fan of Julia Childs. I know that Samantha Vérant, the author of “Sophie Valroux Paris Stars” must be able to cook, otherwise her very own protagonist wouldn’t be writing about food so deliriously delicious! Visit Paris is on my Bucket List, now eating at a Michelin Stars Restaurant has been added. I cherish books that make me feel this connected because of its intimacy. Samantha wraps us up in the story as if we are part of it. There is an elegance to reading it, just as there is an elegance to top star dining! There is commitment to it, just as there is commitment in dating a man with a child. 

There is a delivery of beauty and lights and aromas you can only absorb by opening these pages. The same goes for friendship and love. 

This is your ticket to Paris! This is your invitation to experience it until you can get there in real life. If you can’t get there in real life, Samantha Verant’s second installment in the Series will satisfy the aches you had about not going. Trust me! 

Sit, read, sip your drinks and snack on your charcuterie and go spend some time with Sophie! You’ll be so glad you did!

5 Michelin Stars!

Author Bio:



Samantha Vérant is a travel addict, a self-professed oenophile, and a determined, if occasionally unconventional, French chef. Over the years, she’s visited many different countries, lived in many places, and worked many jobs— always on the search for the one thing that truly excited her. Then, one day, she found everything she’s been looking for: a passion for the written word and true love. Writing not only enabled her to open her heart, it led her to southwestern France, where she’s now married to a sexy French rocket scientist she met over twenty years ago, a stepmom to two incredible kids, and the adoptive mother to one ridiculously adorable Charteux cat. When she’s not trekking from Provence to the Pyrénées, tasting wine in American-sized glasses, or embracing her inner Julia Child while deliberating what constitutes the perfect boeuf bourguignon, Samantha is making her best effort to relearn those dreaded conjugations. 

Website: http://www.samanthaverant.com/

Click here to order Today: https://amzn.to/3AU4CwY

#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Victorian-era England with The Last Season by Jenny Judson & Danielle Mahfood ~ 5⭐️

Published: October 19th, 2021 by TouchPoint Press

Summary:

A Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks Fall Must Read

Set in Victorian England, The Last Season is a story of social upheaval, changing fortunes, and an unlikely romance that develops between a well-to-do heiress and a stable boy.

When they meet as adolescents at Drayton Manor, the well-to-do Cassandra Drayton and the manor’s stable boy, Crispin St. John, seem destined for very different futures. Yet, the two strike up a secret and forbidden friendship. Once discovered, they are forced apart, with Cassandra staying locked in her father’s world and Crispin traveling to India to make his own way.Years later, when Cassandra’s high-society London lifestyle is shattered by her father’s spectacular fall from grace, she is surprised to reunite with her childhood friend, no longer a penniless boy but an enterprising young man who has risen through the ranks of the Indian cotton trade. As they navigate changing circumstances, fickle friendships, and social upheaval, Cassandra and Crispin find that the bond they developed as children is a lasting one.

Review:

This is the story that most of us girls grew up dreaming about when we were reading our “Little Women” or “Jane Eyre” books. I really enjoyed this romp through Victorian-era England. Jenny Judson & Danielle Mahfood nailed the perfect recipe for everything I cherish in a  rolling romantic saga. I fell for both character and place!

This is a great world to fall into! I had fancy gloves, a special tea cup, pen, journal and candle from the “Bridgestone” Book Box, and I loved using them while I took a deep dive into  “The Last Season”! #FunTimes Great idea for your Book Club!l

I received a copy of the book from TouchPoint Press via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

#ZibbyOwens #AnnieMcDonnell #TheWriteReview #AnnieFavorites #NetGalley

5⭐️

About authors:

Jenny Judson and Danielle Mahfood, who met in high school, share a mutual love of historical fiction and romance novels. Instead of passing notes in class, Jenny and Danielle would write short excerpts from imaginary novels that featured themselves and their classmates as characters caught up in tales of romance and adventure. Many years later, after cheering for opposite teams at Harvard-Yale games, they came together in New York City to begin writing The Last Season, which is inspired both by the Victorian period and the financial crisis of 2008.

Order Here:

https://amzn.to/3iUXjPE

#NewRelease, #LiveAuthorInterview, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport 🇮🇪for 18th Century Ireland with ”A Land without Wolves” by Daniel Wade ~ 5 Howling ⭐️

Publishing on October 12, 2021 with Temple Dark Publications

Summary:

Historical Musings in 18th Century Ireland

In the midst of Rebellion are legends wrought, and Mogue Trench knows of a tale never told. What better time to relay it than as the rope awaits.

The Highwayman Joseph Mac Tíre knows of hardship – at the hands of Redcoats and Republicans alike – so Ireland’s political struggle has less appeal than mentoring an orphan in the ways of the underworld.

Yet the world has a way of catching up to men whose hearts know only darkness – men who hunt, and kill, and howl in rage.

But sooner or later, they howl no more.

Review: (yes, i had a lot to say)

“A Land Without Wolves” has me reminiscing of the classics because Daniel Wade’s novel belongs on the shelves among them! I trust this novel will still be discussed many years from now, because of all it can teach us in both craft and history. Daniel Wade has created a deeply satisfying immersion in to a dark time in Ireland’s history. So very entertaining I hated when I had to put it down.

Sometimes there are words that are just written on paper and then there are times when the words feel as if they have been etched and carved so deliberately becoming more vibrant and beautiful and intimate. Daniel takes the English language and has the ability to wrap words around one another with such nuance it’s seems just as effortless as the ink flows from pen to paper. I am still absolutely blown away!

Daniel Wade’s delivery of this 18th century story will be treasured for years to come. I was taken back to Ireland, drifting back into history I now feel profoundly close to. From the first few sentences I was immediately captivated, but at the end of the first chapter I became Daniel’s captive! With one sentence, Daniel knocked the wind out of me and I had to know more. He knows how to grab your attention and make you care about his richly developed characters as if they were your own ancestors. 

Daniel’s writing is so superb, I saw everything unfold in glorious rhythms.  I could see old maps in my mind as we weaved through various escapades. I could sense the trees on either side of me, as if I was in tandem with the horses or along on a walk. I could absolutely feel the damp air touch my face as it turned to rain and fog. I was aroused to feelings of fear and danger just as the characters were. I love giving into a story, and “A Land without Wolves” is one that you will want to allow all of your senses to revel in.

Daniel Wade has a gift where each line and paragraph of his story feels intentionally written “just for me”. He has a way of making you feel like an elevated, proud reader. I feel smarter for having read his novel! 

I’d like to think this story had to be written by candlelight with a quill pen, because the essence of the times is captured so flawlessly.

I am in such a wildly satisfying and exciting awe, I can’t wait for everyone to read it!

5 Howling Stars.

Author Bio:

Daniel Wade is a poet and playwright from Dublin, Ireland, and has been working with language in its many forms since 2007. A graduate of Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Daniel’s poetry has been published in numerous journals, newspapers, and anthologies. He has been a guest on Dublin South FM’s Rhyme and Reason poetry program, and Near FM’s Writer’s Block. In June 2015, his radio drama, The Outer Darkness, was broadcast on Dublin South FM. In 2017, Daniel had his play ”The Collector” playing at The New Theatre in Dublin. January 2020 saw the broadcast of his second radio drama, Crossing the Red Line, on RTE Radio One Extra. A prolific performer, Daniel has read his work at festivals including Electric Picnic, Body and Soul, Noeliefest, the West Belfast Festival, Dublin Fringe and the International Literature Festival 2019 (ILF).

Daniel’s Website: http: //www.danielwade.ie/

#BookReview: Goodbye, Orchid by Carol Van Den Hende ~ The Write Review Top Book of 2020, Annie Award Finalist & 5⭐️

Published: October 1st, 2020

Summary:

Rising from ashes is hard. Giving up the one you love is harder.

Thirty-two year-old Phoenix Walker is an entrepreneur who has built an agency with a heart almost as big as his own. To add to his good fortune, he’s falling for Orchid Paige, the beautiful half-Asian marketer who’s collaborated with him on a winning military campaign.

They’ve grown close after months working and traveling together. She’s even divulged the trauma in her past that makes her panic over images of injured vets. He’s trying not to cross their professional boundary.

Their searing attraction heightens.

Until an accident changes him forever.

Now, he’s faced with the hardest decision of his life. Does he burden the woman whose traumatic childhood makes him feel protective of her? Or does true love mean leaving her without explaining why?

Review:

“Goodbye, Orchid” is not your ordinary romantic story. You will be moved to places deeper than expected.

It reminded me of Jane Eyre’s “Sense & Sensibility” in its outstanding and classy delivery! Only instead of the characters overcoming class and status to find one another, Phoenix & Orchid must face physical and emotional scars to do so. Their love is woven together by trauma and loss. This is another love for the ages!

They must decide how vulnerable they are willing to become for love and themselves.  Isn’t this what all great love stories are made of? 

It is in the vulnerabilities that we find our most powerful gifts for both ourselves and others. That compassion, perseverance and capacity of the human heart is proven between the covers.

Carol Van Den Hende writes with a scorching intensity for her story and it is intoxicatingly beautiful. The words feel so personal you can’t help but become enraptured. Carol is an exceptional wordsmith!

I know from personal experience that she nails Phoenix in his recovery. I was often brought to tears with her accuracy. Carol’s care with this is immaculate.

Jane Eyre wrote “The more I know of the world, the more am I convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love.” 

I can see this for Phoenix “The more I know of my recovery, the more I am convinced that I shall never be able to allow Orchid to really love me”

The cover & pages are stunning! You trust this book was deeply cared for in its making! You too, will care for it deeply!

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

CAROL VAN DEN HENDE is an award-winning author who pens stories of resilience and hope. Her novel Goodbye, Orchid won the 2020 American Fiction Award winner for urban fiction,  Pinnacle Achievement Award winner for multicultural fiction, IAN Outstanding Fiction for Best First Novel, two Royal Dragonfly Awards, two Best Book Finalist Awards, Audiobook Reviewer New Author of the Year Award, 2021 gold American Advertising Award, 2021 Book Excellence Award, 2021 Authorshout Recommended Read Award, 2021 Kops-Fetherling International Award Multicultural Fiction Gold, Chanticleer International Chatelaine 1st Place Award, 2021 National Indie Excellence Award, a Zibby Award nomination, was named a Top Book of 2020 by The Write Review, and selected as a 2022 Book of the Month by the world’s largest book club, The International Pulpwood Queens and Timber Guys Book Club. Plus, it’s been featured by Glamour, Buzzfeed, Parade,  Travel+Leisure, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, DIYMFA, WABC Radio among others. Carol is also a speaker, strategist, Board member and Climate Reality Leader. One secret to her good fortune? Her humorous husband and teenaged twins, who prove that love really does conquer all. Please sign up for Carol’s newsletter at carolvandenhende.com/contact or linktr.ee/cvdh

Order Here:

Order from our Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781646631889

#NewRelease, #BookReview & #StampYourPassport for 🇺🇸 Washington, USA: Other People’s Things by Kerry Anne King

Published: September 21, 2021

From the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Whisper Me Thiscomes a witty, magical story about improbable connections, difficult gifts, and the unexpected events that heal us and bring us together.

Jailbird. Klepto. Spectacular failure to launch. Nicole Wood’s sticky fingers have earned her many names, but it’s not that she’s stealing—some objects just need to be moved elsewhere, and the universe has chosen her to do it. Still, being a relocator of objects isn’t easy. With her marriage on the rocks, no real-world skills, and the threat of prison hanging over her head, Nicole is determined to change her ways.

Things seem to be looking up, thanks to a godsent job with her sister’s housecleaning business—until she encounters a seemingly harmless paperback that insists on moving from one client’s home to another’s. Nicole hopes no one will notice, but the action stirs up long-hidden secrets and triggers a series of fateful events that threatens to destroy the life she’s creating and hurt those closest to her. She’ll need to embrace her unwieldy gift and take a chance on love in order to unravel the mystery and fix what’s gone wrong. 

Review:

Kudos to King! Kerry Anne King gets better with each book! She always proves to be superbly original!

“Other People’s Things” has me seeing things and people through a new lens. I admire books that move me in this way.

I was spellbound from the moment I opened the book until the very end when it had to let me go, only because it was over! 

In doing so, I found this story of Nicole and the people around her to be so Real! ! Engaging! Funny! Alluring! and, best of all, Satisfying!! 

This is a book I will read again and again and share with friends.

I anxiously await Kerry Anne King’s next novel!

I was given this book by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

5 Stars.

Author Bio:

Kerry Anne King (who also writes as Kerry Schafer) is a Washington Post and Amazon charts bestselling author who writes compelling and transformational stories about family and personal growth. She loves to add in mystery, humor and an undercurrent of romance, and celebrates when she succeeds in making readers both laugh and cry.

Kerry Anne has been chosen as the 2020 Writer of the Year by the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers Association. Her most recent novel, Everything You Are, is a finalist in the Nancy Pearl Awards hosted by the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. She is enthusiastic about encouraging and supporting other writers and is the host of Tell Me Your Secrets, a videocast/podcast featuring lively, informal interviews with authors and other people involved in bringing books into the world.

When not absorbed in creative pursuits, you’ll find Kerry Anne hanging out with her real life Viking on their little piece of heaven in rural northeastern Washington.

Website: https://allthingskerry.com/blog

Order Kindle Version Here on Amazon:

Order from Bookhampton, to Support My Local Indie Shop in Southampton, NY:

https://www.bookhampton.com/book/9781542026239

Paperback, Hard COver & CD

Order from Bookshop to help Indie Bookshops & One Love Dog Rescue which I volunteer:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781542026239

look at ANnies’s FavOrites

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Spain 🇪🇸 & New York, 🇺🇸 : Paper Airplanes by Tabitha Forney. One of my Favorite Reads this Year. ~ 5⭐️

Published: September 7th, 2021 by SparkPress, just in time to honor the 20 year Anniversary of 9/11

Subject:

It’s the end of summer, 2001. Erin O’Connor has everything she’s ever dreamed of: good friends, a high-powered career at a boutique Manhattan firm, and a husband she adores. They have plans for their life together: careers, children, and maybe even a house in the country. But life has other plans. Daniel is a trader who works on the 101st floor of the World Trade Center.

Erin is drinking margaritas on a beach in Mallorca, helping her best friend get over a breakup, when she hears a plane has crashed into Daniel’s building. On a television at the smoky hotel bar, she watches his building collapse. She makes her way home with the help of a stranger named Alec, and once there, she haunts Ground Zero, nearby hospitals, and trauma centers, plastering walls and fences with missing-person flyers. But there’s no trace of Daniel.

After accepting Daniel’s death, Erin struggles to get her life back on track but makes a series of bad decisions and begins to live her life in a self-destructive fog of booze and pills. It’s not until she hits rock bottom that she realizes it’s up to her to decide: Was her destiny sealed with Daniel’s? Or is there life after happily ever after?

Review:

Where all the worst pain and suffering in my lifetime meets in a beautiful love story! 
Tabitha Forney brought things to life that we should never forget! If I’m to be honest, this was an event I was scared to read about.
I believe she was touched by souls above while writing “Paper Airplanes”, especially the prologue.(Trigger Warning) She shares the devastation of 9/11 with raw grit, that hurt and made my heart cringe…..It was PERFECT! We should read this and ache and cry and hate it for happening, to go soft would be a disservice. Tabitha’s writing had a beat, it was so visceral…I believe souls lost were giving her their approval.
Tabitha is so beautiful in her writing style, along the way she lead me through a story of love that is so achingly beautiful. 
It is obvious her debut novel was meant to be this. 
I was given this book by the publicist, Booksparks via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

About Tabitha Forney:

Tabitha Forney writes books to appease the voices in her head. Her debut novel, PAPER AIRPLANES, the story of a woman who loses her husband on 9/11, comes out September 7, 2021. Tabitha is a mom, attorney, and yoga devotee who lives in Houston with her three kids and a husband who was on the 85th floor of the North Tower on 9/11 and lived to tell about it. In her spare time, she practices law and ashtanga yoga, plays tennis, and serves on the boards of Inprint Houston and the Center for Science and Law

Tabitha’s Website: http://www.tabithaforney.com/

Live Interview: click link under photo

https://fb.watch/86JnyICH9Q/

Order Kindle Here:

.

Order from Bookhampton in East Hampton, NY:

will add link later, its not working today

Order from World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781647421779

#BookReview & #StampYourPassport for Germany 🇩🇪, Israel 🇮🇱 & LA, USA 🇺🇸 : Do Not Disclose by Leora Krygier ~ 5⭐️

Published: August 24th, 2021 by She Writes Press

Summary:

Leora, a juvenile court judge, wife, mother, and daughter, is caught in the routine of work, taking care of her family and aging parents. But she’s also a second-generation Holocaust survivor. It’s an identity she didn’t understand was hers until she accidentally discovered a secret file of handwritten notes addressed to her father. A further discovery of a seemingly random WWII postcard in a thrift store sets her on a collision course with the past in this lyrical memoir about secrets hidden within secrets, both present-day and buried deep within wartime Europe.

Review:

Leora Krygier moved me as I flip the pages of her story. She tells it with such delicacy you can feel the pull to hold back and not tell “just too much” like her parents.
The title “Do Not Disclose” had a variable of meanings for me. The main one being that traumas are often kept as close to our own hearts and souls as possible, we order ourselves not to share, Even when we don’t, the pain can still be passed down to the next generation, I think it passes on with even more intensity because of the misunderstanding.. The silence is louder.
Leora’s desire to learn more takes her down such an interesting road! I was totally enamored with the postcard found in clothing at a thrift shop! LOVED THIS!
This story will make your heart swell as she digs deeper! And it will make you want to know more!
Leora is a gifted writer. I enjoyed her poetic cadence that showed up often in the story, I felt as though that was when the book was most alive, But, trust me….the other parts are just as important and just as cool to read, this was where I felt her pull to “Not Disclose” too much.
I loved this book!
I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review!

5 Stars.

About Leora:

I think I wrote my first story at the age of eight, a micro-autobiography. Micro? Because, well, how much can you say at the age of eight? But I guess I was hooked. I also love to take photos with my cameras and iPhone, which is always snug in my back pocket. 

For me, every photo has a story, and every story is a snapshot.

I’m the author of “When She Sleeps” (Toby Press) a New York Public Library Selection for “Best Books for the Teen Age,” and about which Newsweek said, “Krygier’s luminous prose transports the reader.” 

I’m also a former Los Angeles Superior Court judge and the author of “Juvenile Court: A Judge’s Guide for Young Adults and their Parents” (Scarecrow Press). 

I live in Los Angeles with my husband. When I’m not not writing, I love to go to the beach, walk the Santa Monica Mountain trails, and snap lots and lots of photographs.

Website: http://leorakrygier.net

Order Here:

Order at World of the Write Review Bookshop:

https://bookshop.org/a/23681/9781647421595

Author Interview: