#BookReviews: Crimson Falls Novellas Original Sin, The Last DuPont & Sight in the Dark

My ReviewTitle: Crimson Falls Novella Project
Authors: Kiersten Modglin, Emerald O’Brien, Julie Strier, Laurèn Lee, Greta Cribbs, Rachel Renee, A.M. Ialacci, and Amabel Daniels
Release: April 11, 2019
Genre: Psychological Suspense/Thriller Suspense
Cover Designer: Alora Kate
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/search?q=Crimson+Falls+Novella

Buy Links (Kindle Unlimited):
Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2EReJrn
Amazon CA: https://amzn.to/2CfGXLY
Amazon AU: https://amzn.to/2J12yO8
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2HbykX1

Original Sin by Greta Cribbs:

What drives a man to become a killer?
When Dr. Meredith Bowen gets the opportunity to interview Duane Tolloch, a man convicted of committing multiple murders between 1965 and 1967, all she can think about is the needed boost this assignment will give to her career. A seasoned psychiatrist, she is no stranger to the darker regions of the human mind, but as Tolloch relates his tale of a “town curse” and a cycle of abuse that stretches back before he was even born, his story shakes Meredith’s preconceived notions about the nature of the human psyche, as well as her faith in science, to the core.
Was Tolloch simply a man who chose the wrong path, or did his abusive childhood create the monster he grew up to be?
Or could the theory of the town curse actually be true?

Review:

I was enraptured by this story. To be listening to a Serial Killer tell his story and feel empathy for him at the same time was very unsettling to say the least. But, wasn’t that the point?
Greta Cribbs delivers a very precise story about psychiatrist Meredith Bowen going to interview Serial Killer Duane Tolloch with a film crew in tow. He is at a Hospital for the Criminally Insane since murdering 3 college students.
But, as he tells his story you begin to wonder if he is a product of his upbringing? Or, was it that he was conceived on October 13th in Crimson Falls?
Wonderfully written. Fabulous Characters. Story not to be missed!

5 Stars.

The Last Dupont by Rachel Renee:

Ella Dupont learned the cruel truth about death at a young age. By the time she was five, her daddy had been murdered and her older sister died mysteriously. After deeming the town cursed, Ella’s momma whisked her away to start a new life, far from CrimsonFalls.
Twenty years later, Ella gets a phone call, discovering she is the last living relative to the Dupont name, appointed with the task of settling her grandmother’s’s estate. Her momma warned her never to return to the town, but Ella doesn’t believe in curses.
The moment she arrives in Crimson Falls, the town draws her in. Ella extends her visit, desperate to unravel her history from the towns mysterious past. She soon discovers that buried secrets could threaten the life of the last Dupont.

Review:

To say this story surprised me at the end is not giving it enough credit, because it came at me like a car going 0-60 mph! The shock stood with me all day! It was that incredible. I did not see it coming!
Ella is the Last DuPont and She goes back to Crimson Falls to close out her Grandmothers Estate only to learn certain things along the way about her family and herself. Does Crimson Falls have a Curse? You will have to read this book to find out and I have to say that if you miss this one you are missing out!!

5 Stars.

Sight in the Dark by AM Ialacci:

When recently divorced Cleo Kemp inherits a house in the small town of Crimson Falls, she jumps at the opportunity to start over in the seemingly idyllic location. A photographer struggling to find work, Cleo stumbles into the woods looking for a dead body announced on her police scanner. But she’s not prepared for what she finds — the body of her handyman, and the only man in town who has seen her at her most vulnerable, Officer Will Truman.
Still reeling from being discarded by her second husband, Cleo has a hard time with trust, keeping everyone at arm’s length. But when she’s thrown into assisting Officer Truman with the case, she becomes consumed by the investigation. As she learns that every neighbor harbors dark secrets, she starts to wonder how she can really call Crimson Falls home, and if she can trust the man she’s starting to care for.
When the killer strikes again, closer to home than Cleo ever thought possible, she grows desperate to learn the truth. But in a town riddled with secrets, lies, and mysteries, is there such a thing?

Review:

A.M. Ialacci weaves a fabulous tale about Crimson falls and its Founders Day!
Cleo Kemp and her dog Oliver drive to Crimson falls to escape Cleo’s second bad marriage and to possibly settle in to her Great-Aunt Mildred’s home. There, she meets the handyman Nicholas only to have him found murdered in the woods just a few days later!
Cleo gets herself involved in the case with Officer Will Truman, more so than she expects and it is quite exciting! I could not put this one down.

5 Stars.

There are 8 Novella’s in this Series, be sure to check them out!!!

IMG_7891

 

#BookReview: The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald

Summary:The Night Olivia Fell

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

Review:

Christina McDonald wrote an emotionally charged suspense novel introducing many characters that each grew on me; by the end of the novel I was invested in each of them and the outcome that I cried when it was uncovered.

It begins when Abi Knight is awoken in the middle of the night when her phone rings to discover that her daughter has been in an accident. She has fallen off a bridge and the accident has left her brain dead, but to everyone’s surprise she is pregnant!! So, they are to keep her on life support long enough for the baby to be born.

The story is about that fight for the baby’s life and the fight for the justice that Abi is fighting for. It is believed the fall was that of an accident, but Abi knows her daughter was involved in something much more sinister. She is not going to give up until she finds out the truth. What is the truth? Was it an accident or was she involved in a crime? I was truly gripped in the outcome.

We are told the story from both Abi and Olivia’s side which was a stunning way to tell the story and the writing was magnificent! A truly splendid story if you want to be drawn in and read a book that will not let you go!

I will be back for more by Christina McDonald!

5 Stars.

PS. I LOVED THE COVER!!

pro_readerI would like to thank the publishers for sending me an ARC of this novel via Netgalley.

#BookReview & #GiveAway: Liar Liar by Sarah Flint On Tour

 

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Summary:

Liar LiarFrom the bestselling author of Mummy’s Favourite and The Trophy Taker.

DC ‘Charlie’ Stafford returns with a superb new, brutally gripping serial killer thriller, where the hunter becomes the hunted. Perfect for the fans of Angela Marsons.
A faithful dog lies wounded beside the mutilated body of its owner.

A woman is discovered bound and gagged, dead in her own bed.

Both are police officers.

Both have a red rose at their side… worryingly more will follow…
Lies and accusations abound but who is behind the murders and why are the victims being targeted?
Charlie, Hunter and the team must find the killer targeting their own before another body is found.

Review:

I often enjoy a criminal fiction novel that is written by an author with a background in the field, and Sarah Flint was no exception. She has a career spanning over 35 years serving with the Metropolitan Police in London.
She starts off with the suspense at the very first few pages, and does not let you go until the very end. This is definitely a gripping crime novel that will keep you guessing, and we all know that is what makes these novels so intriguing. It felt as though this story was very personal for Sarah Flint. Maybe it was because the story involved police officers being murdered. I am not quite sure; but, it definitely had a realness to it.
This being the 3rd in the DC Charlotte “Charlie” Stafford Series does not make it any less understandable, so it can definitely stand alone. However, it does make me want to add the other two to my To-Read shelf; which I have done.
I really enjoyed her characters DC Charlie and DI Hunter, which made it all the more exciting. I am hoping there is more for Charlie. We shall see…

5 Stars.

GIVEAWAY: LEAVE A COMMENT BELOW TO BE ENTERED INTO A GIVEAWAY OF EBOOK COPY. WINNER ANNOUNCED DECEMBER 15th.

#LiarLiar #NetGalley @McHorsky @TheWriteReview

 

“Center of Gravity” by Laura McNeill

Center of Gravity

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Laura McNeill is now a favorite author of mine. She had me sitting at the edge of my seat, reading this book everywhere…I hated putting it down. This is a truly gripping story from beginning to end.

Laura McNeill tells this story from the view of each character involved, which made each of them more real. Ava is a woman fighting for her life and two children.

Ava met Mitchell at the school where she worked and his son, Jack attended. Mitchell had lost his wife to a devastating death, and seems to be the perfect man…good looking, hard worker, charming. He seemed to be the perfect mate for any woman. Ava also fell in love with Jack, his 8 year old son…so, after they were married, Ava adopted him. Then, she got pregnant with their son, Sam, who is now 1. They seem to have it all, a beautiful home and a great family life. Until things are no longer great and beautiful!

Mitchell becomes increasingly angry, jealous and mean towards Ava for any reason he feels deemed fit. He does not pay any attention to his children. Ava wants to give Mitchell the benefit of the doubt, and believe it is because he lost his last wife, stressed at work, or stressed with the new staircase going in to the house. She wants to believe that this is just a phase.

Until he moves out and takes the children with him! Now, she knows this is not a phase.

This is where the book takes off because you absolutely cannot look away!

I promise that you will be so enthralled in this story, that the outcome cannot come fast enough! Can Ava save herself and her children from this monster of a man? She has to fight to get her children back, as she does this, she learns more about his past….and, it is all rather disturbing. She is finally seeing the real Mitchell.

Ava states “I will wear their love like armor”…and, she does just that. But, will it be enough?

5 Stars